We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food and really nice people!”
Review of Brownstone Bistro

Brownstone Bistro
Ranked #548 of 8,722 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Family owned Italian/Continental fusion restaurant. We have been a staple in the Yonge and Wellesley community for the past 13 years. Just recently we underwent a major renovation courtesy of the TV show Restaurant Takover on the Food Network. Ambiance is elegant and classy without being pretentious or stuck up. Our exceptionally-trained staff provide our guests with fast and efficient service while ensuring they feel relaxed and comfortable, never rushed. But most importantly, they make sure our guests feel welcome in our home.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The pumpkin ravioli and the chicken penne were superb. The red velvet cake was mouth watering. The atmosphere was fun. And the staff was friendly and inviting. This place is a neighborhood gem. Don't miss it when you're in Toronto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing what our guests think, whether it's positive or negative so thank you for that.

Great to hear you folks enjoyed your pasta's and desserts. Both the chicken penne and the red velvet cake are customer favourites so you chose well!

Thanks again for the great review. Hope to see you again soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Brownstone Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 331 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went to this bistro after a show as it looked quaint and the menu looked good. We ordered a burger. It took a half hour to get our meals and when we took our first bite, the burgers were RAW. We called the waitress and told her. She apologized and ordered new meals. Again, we waited another half hour only to get the same thing. When we called her again, we were told that this was the standard way they made their burgers. She offered to put them back on the grill but as we still had an hour and a half drive home, we declined. She repeated the offer like she hadn't heard us. We declined again and got "ok,bye" as she turned on her heel. Bad food, horrible service.

Thank tru2mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always value our guests thoughts and opinions. Otherwise, we would never know how we're doing.

My sincerest apologies about the burgers taking a long time and being undercooked. Our kitchen staff is extremely diligent when it comes to burger temperatures as we take sanitation very serious here at the Brownstone. I am unsure how this occurred as all of our kitchen staff are instructed to cook all burgers to a minimum internal temperature of 74°C or 165°F (at the very minimum).

Regardless, our apologies for the whole mishap. I understand you live out of town but if you'd be willing to send me an e-mail, I'd love to find a way to resolve the situation for you. You can reach me at mark@brownstonebistro.ca.

Again, so sorry for the inconvenience. Hope to hear from you! Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I came here with three friends. Although it took a while for our order to be taken, they were very apologetic and advised that the theatre crowd was just getting their cheques and leaving. So no big deal to us. Dinner was very good and the service throughout the meal was also very good. We all wanted water, so the waitress filled our glasses and left a glass jug of water on our table which was great. The food was very good - highly recommend the hamburger with applesmoked bacon which was one of the specials. Sweet potato fries were tasty,but a bit limp. Would probably go with a salad side next time. Great people watching restaurant right on Yonge, and prices are very reasonable. Overall, we had a very nice dinner and evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always value our guests opinions. How else can we improve?

My apologies about the slow service at the beginning but that's great to see once the rush cleared out, the staff were able to provide you with prompt, friendly service.

Really pleased to see you enjoyed the meal as well. We always do a new burger every week so it's always interesting to see what the chef can come up with.

Thank you for joining us. Hope to see you again soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Unique fresh food great decor and wonderful service makes this bistro one of my favorites in downtown Toronto. They have a great patio you can sit and enjoy the weather while hanging with friends. The staff is very friendly and efficient and you will almost always meet the owner or his son. For a comfortable place you keep wanting to go back to check it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always value hearing our guests thoughts, whether they be positive or negative.

That's great we're considered one of your favourite spots. We have really worked hard over the years to ensure the restaurant has a neighborhood, cozy feel. Happy to see the work has paid off!

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The server was not attentive, friendly and we felt quite neglected throughout the entire meal. Our drink order was never taken, and it took them a long time to come and take our food order. When asked about the size of their sampler platter, he responded with "it's this size, you know?" with his hands forming the size of the plate (which was completely unhelpful).

The sampler platter was average, everything was just tainted by their balsamic vinegar. The pasta dish (pappardelle de funghi) was absolutely pathetic. The whole dish was completely bland and tasted of nothing. Advertised as "tossed with roasted field mushrooms, arugula,
in very light basil roasted tomato sauce," it failed to meet those requirements. Little bits of plain, flavourless button mushrooms, random salad greens on top, in a very disgusting bland, dead tasting tomato sauce is a more accurate description.

Our server was nowhere to be seen for most of our meal, we had to wait a long time for our bill. I asked another server to bring our bill, but she basically ignored me.

Their service is consistent with their service, bad. I would never visit again, it is a complete waste of money and time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank181720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always value hearing our guests opinions and thoughts when it comes to the Brownstone.

My apologies about the negative experience you had with both service and food. I promise you, this is not a normal occurrence at the Brownstone. If you would like, please feel free to e-mail me (mark@brownstonebistro.ca) or DM me so we can discuss this further and try to make things right.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We really hope you'd be willing to send us an e-mail to make things right for you. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brownstone Bistro also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Brownstone Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing