We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Brownstone Bistro

Brownstone Bistro
Ranked #705 of 8,947 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Family owned Italian/Continental fusion restaurant. We have been a staple in the Yonge and Wellesley community for the past 13 years. Just recently we underwent a major renovation courtesy of the TV show Restaurant Takover on the Food Network. Ambiance is elegant and classy without being pretentious or stuck up. Our exceptionally-trained staff provide our guests with fast and efficient service while ensuring they feel relaxed and comfortable, never rushed. But most importantly, they make sure our guests feel welcome in our home.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My friend and I met for dinner last week at the Brownstone. She was a little late for our reservation but the staff weren't phased by this at all. The service was efficient and not too pushy. When we were finished we didn't feel pushed out the door. On the contrary the server topped up our water even after we settled the bill!

I wouldn't order the fish and chips though, the fish was mushy but the batter and everything else on the plate salvaged it for me. My friend was impressed with the burger. Desserts were delectable.

I would totally go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maritimegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always value hearing our guests thoughts, both positive and negative (how else are we to improve?). Happy the service was efficient but not intrusive. We try to ensure our guests feel comfortable in our environment. We want the Brownstone to feel like your home away from home :)

Thanks for your honesty in regards to the fish and chips. We will be sure to pass on your message to the chef. Happy the burger and the desserts were delectable.

Thanks again. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 343 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Staff is stretched short at this prime location restau in the heart of downtown Toronto. Bartenders double as servers, the kitchen can get swamped. Salads as appetizers were excellent, but entrées were not as exciting as the long wait time for them would indicate. The person that designed the menu certainly does not work in the kitchen. Something is lost between what was intended, and what is served. But salads were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DefiningSound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing what our guests think about us. In regards to the servers "doubling up as bartenders", all of our servers are trained to be able to handle the workload. If they cannot keep up, management will jump in to provide assistance. Did you find the service lacking as a result of this?

In regards to the wait time for the food, I do apologize about that. As you probably noticed the evening you were in, it was quite a busy night. Regardless, that is no excuse and I am sorry about that. The menu was actually designed by the chef in collaboration with our guests. The chef set forth a proposed menu and after months of dialogue with our guests and regulars, we finally came up with the current menu we have in place.

Again, I do apologize for somewhat of a "mediocre" night. At the Brownstone we strive to provide our guests with the perfect dining experience, whether it be through food, drink, or service. I assure you that this was a one-off and I hope you would be willing to join us again and provide us with an opportunity to prove this.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I had a very good steak here. Sat on the deck and enjoyed people watching. Drinks were good, staff was very friendly. I would recommend this as a place to try for excellent food on decent budget.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sbfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate hearing what our guests think. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. As you mentioned, the patio is great for sitting outside and just watching the whole of Toronto pass by.

Thanks again. Looking forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We truly savoured and treasured a wonderful Sunday brunch at The Brownstone Bistro on Sept. 2, 2012. It seemed to be one of those occasions where the stars were perfectly aligned and you think to yourself “Who could ask for anything more?” The sun was shining but there was a cooling breeze. The restaurant is on a busy Yonge Street corner with lots of pedestrians so the people-watching is unparalleled. The food was scrumptious (especially the Eggs Spanikota). The service was prompt and attentive; the owner even pitches in and helps his staff when needed. And $5 Caesars ... need I say more? The best brunch that we have had in a long time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LoriD9201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear we were able to provide you with a memorable Brunch experience. With so many terrific brunch spots in Toronto, we really try our best to set ourselves apart from the rest.

Thanks again. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice patio and good bistro overall. The Brownstone has an interesting brunch menu. Many more options than the typical bacon and eggs or eggs Benedict. The spinach Gorgonzola on French toast is amazing, as is the breakfast spinach spanakopita. The fruit bowls are also very good and plentiful. The grilled calimari on the regular menu is also very good and they have Kronenbourg Blanc on tap - a huge plus with me. Better than most other places on Yonge, and I typically hesitate to eat anywhere on Yonge, so that says a lot in itself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank circumventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Y, Owner at Brownstone Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We totally understand your comment about being on Yonge St. and as a result, we work extremely hard to differentiate ourselves from the rest of the pack. Happy to see it shows.

Thans again for writing a review. We look forward to seeing you again, whether it be for brunch or dinner :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brownstone Bistro also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Brownstone Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing