We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and very quick service”
Review of Bloor Street Diner

Bloor Street Diner
Ranked #4,971 of 8,574 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and very quick service”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The portions are very reasonable and the menu has a french twist. The food is very good. They even grow herbs in house. I work right by the restaurant and have an hour break. I always leave satisfied, full, and with time to spare. Great service, upbeat ambiance; you really get the feel that you're downtown.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taynea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    26
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had Sunday brunch here for $25.95.
I was expecting a happy amount of food to choose from but that was not the case. Very disappointed with the quality of food. Hotel breakfasts are better than this place.

I don't know how their regular menu is.

Service is meh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tokiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but noisy”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We eat here frequently because we live in the building. We always find the food very satisfying, and sometimes imaginative. I adore the eggs benedict with french fries. I call it the cholesterol special. The french fries are I think the best in the city, but sinful. The prix fix specials are quite reasonably priced. Wine selection by the glass is quite good.

We always find the service friendly and I like the efficiency of having a separate set of waitpersons who actually deliver the food.

The only downside is the noise level. In the cafe it is impossible to carry on a conversation; it is not quite so bad in the restaurant and it's okay on the patio, but not in January! Surely they can do something about this. They also grossly overheat the indoor part of the patio.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“NOTHING EXTRAVAGANT”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

me and bf came here once just for drinks so i cant really judge or say anythin about food,,,it was just okay inside and unfortunately the server was taking too long with an order..but they have a nice patio..so A+ for that

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Trendy diner, but sometimes wait staff can be a little too distant and rushed”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

i have eaten here several times and the food is good, the price is reasonable, the atmosphere is fine. But, and t here is a but, sometimes the wait staff are standoffish, sometimes not even making eye contact or acknowledging you with their voice! It's a 50/50 thing...half the time the service is fantastic and enthusiastic, half the time, not so much. So if you don't mind being treated like second hand rubbish and made to wait or served hurriedly, take your chances, you may also get the day when the really great staff are working.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GloriousLakeSuperior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloor Street Diner also viewed

 

Been to Bloor Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing