We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipitous Win: Good, Service, Atmosphere”

Big Daddy'S Crab Shack And Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown West
NH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serendipitous Win: Good, Service, Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Looking for a good lunch stop we happened across Big Daddy's. We saw it quite busy at night at we know why: a NOLA feel and taste. The flavors were authentic and the menu was varied. We would come back!

Helpful?
Thank PhotogWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    90
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost a five, 4.3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Oysters were GREAT! Nice atmosphere, great service. The entrees were just ok. I had ravioli, guy had a steak. Nothing to brag about but no complaints either. Was just a welcoming, unpretentious, relaxing place.

Helpful?
Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better Jambalaya than New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was some of the best Cajun food I've had in my life. We were only able to be seated at the bar. It's a "garden view" (aka underground) restaurant. But what it lacks in view it makes up for in quality of food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFred84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A taste of New Orleans in Downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have been to New Orleans more than once, so had a point of comparison.

Like New Orleans itself this restaurant does not make gourmet food. But if you like Seafood and the N'Orleans flavors you will like Big Daddy. The atmosphere was laid back; while we were there the service was extremely friendly and attentive, but we were never hurried.

The food was basically good but let down by little details. We had three appetizers (embarrassing but true!). The oysters Rockefeller were fine, the gumbo had a great flavor, but was a little short of seafood and sausage, the crab cakes needed more spice/flavor, they were bland to our taste. But overall we were very happy with the apps!

For the entrees we had steamed lobster and Chicken and Shrimp Etouffee. Both were essentially fine though for some reason the vegetables were under-cooked even to our taste (lovers of under cooked veg!)

Amazingly we had room to share a bread pudding. Very good, though not quire in the class of some we had in New Orleans.

Bottom line? We will go back the "imperfections" are minor compared to the plus points.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angl0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For amazing selection of oysters and great atmosphere head to Big Daddy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This place is a great watering hole and an amazing oyster bar. The staff is cheerful, upbeat and helpful. The atmosphere is best appreciated as intimate setting by romancing couples or by groups of easy going carousing groups.
Located at King St W. and Simcoe Street in the heart of the entertainment district, this is a fun place to hit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dani718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy'S Crab Shack And Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing