We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonder Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Daddy'S Crab Shack And Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Big Daddy'S Crab Shack And Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonder Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our first time at Big Daddy's, we just picked it because it was near the theater. What a nice place, very warm and inviting. The staff was very friendly and professional. And the dinner was great. We had (four of us) the special, blackened catfish, lobster, spare ribs, and lots of mussels. I will be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ARE52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    90
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was our second visit to Big Daddy's in the last 6 months. What a difference between the first time---excellent-- compared to our experience last night. It was not overly busy. The hostess was very welcoming and professional. Our server, however, was just going through the paces--admitted it was her first time back after being off for 5 days. My salmon was very dry, but at least it was hot, unlike the lukewarm vegetables and hard potatoes. The clam chowder was barely warm. Vegetables that came with the pork were also warm to cool. We were right by the kitchen! Calamari was excellent. We didn't want to make a fuss as we were entertaining another couple. But the experience was underwhelming to say the least. Too bad as we know first hand that it can be great--especially with the right service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marbella50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

wonderful little bar area, relax in an overstuffed chair with a drink. Have great calamari. The food is very good. Service is very good. I have been there many times over the years, never dissapoints.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fiftyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

It wasn't aweful but it wasn't amazing. Have been a few times, in the theatre district. Nice patio to sit on, a bit noisy as it fronts King Street W.

Helpful?
Thank beachforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, reliable place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'm a Toronto local and my friends and I go to Big Daddy's maybe once a year, when we're all downtown and we want to go someplace we'll all like. Great food, great service. For us it's a little pricier than a casual dinner - more like someone's birthday or a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank kerin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy'S Crab Shack And Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing