We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Biff's Bistro

Biff's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Biff's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 8,439 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge St.
Transit: Biff's Bistro is located one and a half blocks east of Union Station and two blocks south of King Station using the subway.
Description: Reminiscent of a 1930's Parisian Bistro, Biff's Bistro is a smart, upscale masterpiece by Toronto uber-restaurateurs Peter Oliver and Michael Bonacini. The stylish lounge, featuring a stunning zinc-topped bar, represents pure vintage design, while handsome leather banquettes, warm wood paneling and grand mirrors create a rich, lively dining space. In this setting, Chef Amanda Ray presents an extensive menu of inspiring French bistro cuisine, with an impressive corresponding wine list. Located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from many downtown theatres, hotels and the Air Canada Centre.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“LOVE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Biff's has dollar oysters every day of the week! They are from PEI and delicious! The decor is fantastic, the waiters friendly, and I love the menu (and I am French!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intheTDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    142
    49
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Elegant space and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I scoped out Biff's using TripAdvisor. Wow. Sophisticated interior. Stripped down French cooking which was superb. Oddly, the black bean soup had very few black beans but the broth was loaded with flavor. Braised cheeks and the halibut were both incredible. Food in Toronto was not cheap but Biff's was worth every looney. We were not in a hurry (they asked up front). Savor the experience, although there were Maple Leaf fans slamming down their meals, which they seemed to enjoy, too! The service was impeccable. There are small rooms, but I highly recommend sitting in the main room FACING the room with all the black and white photographs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Motowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic food and service. You get what you pay for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were in a private room for a group dinner. They served some appetizers ahead of time and then we sat to order. The food was fantastic, and the service was wonderful. It was a great start to a very important meeting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hobbes2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great little bistro right outside Sony centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice little restaurant outside doors of Sony centre. Great parking deal $2 downstairs - take ticket to restaurant after 5:30 and they will validate. This place is definitely pricey but the food is very good and service is excellent. They do a great job of feeding you and getting you out the door for showtime. We enjoyed the warm octopus salad and steak and frites. Great wine list, again pricey. Some very nice privately imported French wines but then the cheapest wine on the list Is $40 but is a $10 red from the lcbo general list. Overall i did really enjoy this bistro and despite the prices i will return for the parking, the food and wine, the service and convenient location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank briguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really disappointed......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to the Biff's Bistro last Wednesday for lunch.
The table offered to us was a wobbly one. I wouldn't expect a table like that in this kind of restarant, supposedly high level (???).
Well, after moving to another table, service was ok. Nothing exceptional.
I ordered the Steak Frites (flat iron steak with seasonal vegetables & frites), my companion had the Biff's Fixe (Mushroom Soup and Pissaladiere). Steak was ok, but the fries was so salty that I couldn't eat it. I just left it all in the plate. Mushroom Soup was ok, but my partner was expecting more from the Pissaladiere.
When I told the waitress that the fries was too salty, the answer was : "I don't know why THEY don't make fries without the salt, and let the customers put salt themselves." Period. No effort to make new fries without salt.
I am not going to this restaurant again and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seekingalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biff's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Biff's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing