We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUMMERLICIOUS 2011...BEWARE...SLOOOOOOW SERVICE!!!!!! Lunch took over 2 hours!!!”
Review of Biff's Bistro

Biff's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Biff's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 8,569 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge St.
Transit: Biff's Bistro is located one and a half blocks east of Union Station and two blocks south of King Station using the subway.
Description: Reminiscent of a 1930's Parisian Bistro, Biff's Bistro is a smart, upscale masterpiece by Toronto uber-restaurateurs Peter Oliver and Michael Bonacini. The stylish lounge, featuring a stunning zinc-topped bar, represents pure vintage design, while handsome leather banquettes, warm wood paneling and grand mirrors create a rich, lively dining space. In this setting, Chef Amanda Ray presents an extensive menu of inspiring French bistro cuisine, with an impressive corresponding wine list. Located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from many downtown theatres, hotels and the Air Canada Centre.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUMMERLICIOUS 2011...BEWARE...SLOOOOOOW SERVICE!!!!!! Lunch took over 2 hours!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Had reservations for 4 people at 12:15pm. We didn't get our bill until 2:30pm. Food was good. Grilled Pork Excellen...Basquez Style Chicken was ok (Couscous was bland and too "soupy") ...Croissant & Chocolate Bread Pudding was AMAZING!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoGood20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    153
    50
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great evening at Biff's. We will definitely be back!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I decided to spend the weekend in T.O. to celebrate our 20th anniversary. After much research and, because we love french cuisine, we chose Biff's. I cannot say enough positive things about this restaurant. The whole experience was amazing. Not only was the food fantastic, but the staff were what made this evening incredible, Our server, Henrietta, could not have been more friendly, but professional at the same time. The Manager, Sadhvi, went out of her way to make us feel very special. We were provided with a complimentary dessert tasting, which was to die for. When the meal was finished, she even accompanied us outside to hail us a cab. I would have to say that our experience at this restaurant, was one of our best ever.

I would like to highly recommend the fricasse escargot, the duck confit and the smelts.

Thanks, Ladies. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraGormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, excellent wine... will definitely return!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Had an early dinner at Biff's this past weekend before catching The Lion King. We let our server know what time we had to leave and she was very accommodating. We chose to sit inside and enjoyed the lovely dining room, an expansive room that is very tranquil with plenty of room between tables. We were celebrating and began with an aparatif of Kir Royale. Our server was friendly and casual, but very knowledgeable about the food and wines and detailed aspects of each course. We shared the chicken parfait app with was fantastic with the grainy mustard and brioche and pickles. The pickles and mustard at Biff's are homemade and to die for. For mains we enjoyed the petit seafood platter (which is not petit at all, it was huge!) and the duck confit over lentils. These were possibly the best lentils I've ever tasted with tiny mushrooms and garlic in a little bit of salty broth, wonderful. The duck was crisp on the outside and the inside was gamey and was perfectly accompanied by the grainy mustard. My dining partner remarked on the pickerel in particular as being outstanding and he enjoyed everything on the plate. We enjoyed a 2008 French Pinot Noir with our meal which ran $44 (which seems a bit overpriced) but was fantastic and I would gladly enjoy it again. For dessert we enjoyed the chocolate cream dessert that was heaven with a tiny deposit of coarse sea salt on top - magnificent. We dined for just over 1.5 hours and the bill with tax and tip came to just over $200. It was a perfect dining experience I will gladly return to soon. The wine list is expansive, but fairly pricey with bottles starting at about $38, so our $44 selection was on the low end. If you wish to cut down your bill a bit, go on a sunday and bring your own bottle of wine - the corkage is free on sundays!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I expected so much more”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We arrived Saturday night at 9:30 and the place was less than half full. They dismissed staff to save money and we were the victims so service was poor. It took 18 minutes once seated to get cocktails. (shame!)
The marrow was excellent as was the tripe appetizer. (NB The restaurant only served one tripe portion that night as it seems patrons are terrified of something different) The Beef Bourguignon left a lot to be desired, did not even contain lardons and pearl onions.
The steak Tartare was off, much too much vinegar but the raw quail egg was nice.

Frites were as expected with a less than pungent rouille.

Dessert was fine and the pickles with home made mustard is a nice touch.
Service was very slow but the server was very friendly but had no time to give good service.
This restaurant is part of the O&B Restaurant group, a large corporation and has a large corporation feel. Not good. Like their signature restaurant, Canoe, the cooking seems to hit and miss.

This place would not do well in Monreal or Vancouver let alone Paris.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrWonderfulToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Winterlicious”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

$35 Winterlicious menu was excellent and the whole experience, especially the staff, was wonderful.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biff's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing