We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, Best Greek Cuisine and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avli - CLOSED

Avli
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East End
Orillia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing, Best Greek Cuisine and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The sauces tell the tale! Owner/Chef Lambros knows his stuff, with the most delicious sauces to accompany his delightful menu items. As a friendly group of six this time, we elected a "farmhouse" style of service, with a wide variety of starters and mains served on platters for us to pass around. Highlights were many, but I'll mention the anise shrimp, rabbit stew, and the best, most tender and flavourful calamari ever! He has done his magic here in Greektown for 19 years now, just near the west end of the Danforth, an easy reach from downtown by car, taxi or tube (Chester stop on the Bloor subway). Space is cosy and artfully decorated, and staff were all friendly and attentive. Excellent selection of good Greek wines - nice to experience in comparison to the more common French, Aussie, USA, etc. Highly recommended for couples, groups, a special occasion, or business entertaining. Memorable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank berniken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, B.C.
Level Contributor
183 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unusual Greek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The cold starters were mostly good. The hummus was only so so. The olive tapenade was very good. My salmon filet on rice with spinach was a tad overdone but tasty. The Greek white wine (bottled) was very good. My wife's lamb pie was delicious. The pastry was not overly heavy. The wait staff was attentive

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best authentic Greek/Mediterranean in the City!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is my favourite Greek restaurant on the Danforth. Growing up in this neighbourhood and living here for many years, I have eaten in most of the eateries. If you are looking for a souvlaki, you have your pick - they are all carbon copies of each other. BUT if you are looking for a true greek dining experience you must try Avli. All dishes are prepared with love and taste like my mom's kitchen. Dishes created by master chef and storyteller Lambros include rabbit and spring onion pie and lamb shank. For vegetarians like me there is a huge selection like baked lima beans, okra in tomato sauce, artichokes and potatoes, rapini with roasted garlic and my favourite horta pie. Horta pie is bitter greens in a flaky crust -- simply a must. I eat there several times a week and have never been disappointed. Everything here is delicious and prepared fresh!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 506ladyinred506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value for a charming little Greek restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The people who run this place are so friendly and seem genuinely happy to make sure you enjoy your meal. We had the grilled seafood platter for 2 and a bottle of Greek, red wine. It was wonderful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Home Cooking: Greek Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant two weekends ago and I was set on having souvlaki (if that's how you spell it). The waitress talked me into having the lamp pie. I am so glad she did. It was AMAZING and everyone at my table was jealous. We had some great dips with pita and calamari to die for, for appetizers. Great greek wine was suggested and it was perfect with our food. To top it off the desserts were so yummy I forgot about my diet for the night. Thanks Avli!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frazandtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing