We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh, I've had better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aunties and Uncles

Aunties and Uncles
Ranked #533 of 8,405 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
United States
Level Contributor
327 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Meh, I've had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Food is just okay, it's by no means bad, but it doesn't have that "wow" factor. Home-fries (hash browns) were mushy. Everyone at our table were under whelmed, but the place stills packs em in, so what do we know?.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Probably won't come back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

To start, the food at this place is alright but really not worth the wait.
That's why we showed up right at opening time (9am) to find the place already packed!! I asked the server about this and her response was "what do you want me to do?"

Ok whatever. Turns out they had a couple of tables upstairs (the stairs are as steep as a ladder and I'm sure having 20 people up there violates some fire code and would be a huge tragedy if there were a fire).

We sit down and try to order straight away and were told that the server would have to check to make sure every downstairs had ordered first!!! We were with a baby too!

Then 10 mins later we were told they didn't serve waffles anymore (it took 10 mins to figure this out?!).

All this said, the food came shortly thereafter and it was alright.

Lessons learned, get there before 9, and don't bring grandma if you're gonna be seated upstairs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beautifultree12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Best brunch i've ever had without a doubt. This place is simply delicious. Can't really fault it. The omelette which was daily special really surprised me. Had feta and curd inside it. The toast was delicious and the tea kept coming. The outside seating was perfect for the super sunny day. Will definitely go back here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank yasumidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Vintage breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A former 50s barbershop, this little place dishes up a great breakfast in a unique retro surrounding.
You might be in for a wait on a weekend with people queuing outside. Fortunately for us it was the first sunny day of spring and the wait, with a coffee from nearby, was an enjoyable one.

The food is good, I had pancakes and my partner the burger of the day. Both were very nice and we accompanied it with fresh juice.

Waiting time was a tad long, but fortunately we had some old comics to read.

One really should try this place at least once.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_Cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my first visit to this legendary brunch spot.... and it won't be my last. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast tacos that I ordered and can't wait to try other delicious looking menu options.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_hound_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunties and Uncles also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Aunties and Uncles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing