We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great food experience at the heart of Greek district”

Astoria Shish Kebob House
Ranked #1,384 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East End
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great food experience at the heart of Greek district”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

You just can't beat their award winning pork souvlaki ($13.49 for a small portion that is plenty for a hearty appetite). It comes with a copious serving of greek salad.

I have been here several times over the years and the quality never falters. I like their Saganaki with the salad as the appetizer -$10.95 (Kefalotiri cheese pan fried and set ablaze table-side. OPA!)

As a good wine pairing, try their Hatzimichalis Cabernet-Sauvignon (Greece - $35.99 for a bottle). They also have a good variety by the glass ranging from $6.29 to $7.49.

The servers all have a tendency to serve up too many courses at the same time or too close to one another. That's probably OK if you're in a hurry. Otherwise, make sure to let your server know that you would prefer your servings served in sequence - allowing sufficient time for you to appreciate the moment...

They are located at the corner of Danforth and Chester avenues, right in the middle of the Greek district. The area has a unique feel to it - if you can get a table on the patio, do so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    44
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent service...friendly
I had chicken and roasted potatoes. Very tender chicken.
Enjoyed the meal. Large portions...small size is more than enough

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“ORIGINAL GREEK”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the original Greek spot on the Danforth and started out a couple of doors East 40 years ago. In 1988 it moved to the present corner spot, with summer patios out front and down the side. We are quickly seated on a busy Sunday afternoon and service from one of the grey haired waiters is attentive and brisk. We share Saganaki, soft white Kefalotiri cheese set afire tableside. Delicious. Then we both have mousaka ($15.99), tender ground beef topped with baked egg plant and a Bechamel sauce. It comes with a huge Greek salad, topped with the very best feta cheese, and a monster side of rice. No skimping on portions here. It’s a big place and noisy, with lots of kids around at this time of day. At more adult times be prepared for line-ups.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gentlemansportion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Year later food GREAT but service could be improved”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to Astoria last night with family, and had not been in a year. Food still very good (I recommend the Calamari fried dinner, best Calmari I have still ever had).

Now the minor service issues.

When we arrived the restaurant was busy but maybe half full as we arrived before 6pm.
We asked when we arrived if we could please have a booth if possible, was told it was not after she checks this and takes us to the WORST TABLE in the restaurant by the kitchen door where it is VERY NOISY with all the dishes beside your table, we said we would not sit there, and asked for another table. We are not picky about tables, by the way, it wasn't like their weren't LOTS of tables!

Our server did not bring us the complimentary bread,unless that has changed and no longer free? It seemed to be on some others tables, not a big deal though. Also I had asked that my dinner come with fries, instead giving me vegetables and switched it for fries quickly, which I appreciated.

The food is great but it is kind of expensive, at $18.99 for Calamari dinner and they don't list their prices on their website, this may be why, but don't get me wrong I WOULD RECOMMEND!

FYI: They only will reserve a table if if it is for 5 or more people, at least that's what they said on the phone? Because the food is good, it is great for parties but is always noisy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Authentic, Quality Greek at a Great Price!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

There are, of-course, many options available to someone wishing to taste Greek food on the Danforth. However, when it comes to the availability of getting a table, the location, the quality and price of the food, it is VERY hard to be Astoria. Don't let the name of "shish kebob house" fool you. These guys specialize in all Greek food, and it is very well done. Had the lamb souvlaki and it was great. Their homemade tzatziki sauce was excellent. The feta cheese they use for their Greek salads is one of the softest, most delectable you're likely to find. The servings are very generous in size and everything is spiced, marinaded and seasoned to perfection. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmarklawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoria Shish Kebob House also viewed

 

Been to Astoria Shish Kebob House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing