We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, Quality Greek at a Great Price!”

Astoria Shish Kebob House
Ranked #1,163 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East End
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic, Quality Greek at a Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

There are, of-course, many options available to someone wishing to taste Greek food on the Danforth. However, when it comes to the availability of getting a table, the location, the quality and price of the food, it is VERY hard to be Astoria. Don't let the name of "shish kebob house" fool you. These guys specialize in all Greek food, and it is very well done. Had the lamb souvlaki and it was great. Their homemade tzatziki sauce was excellent. The feta cheese they use for their Greek salads is one of the softest, most delectable you're likely to find. The servings are very generous in size and everything is spiced, marinaded and seasoned to perfection. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmarklawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    44
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
493 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Still sets the standard on the Danforth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

There are nights that, looking for Greek on the Danforth, that we see the lineups at Astoria and go somewhere else. But recently it was one of those evenings when the lineup was modest, and we went back to the Astoria. You know, they have earned their reputation. The prices aren't the lowest on the Danforth, but they do everything well. The souvlaki plates are available in large and smaller sizes, decent salads, good appetizers; i had the salmon and it was better than in many places. I think i would say that the Astoria rarely disappoints. It still sets the standard on the Danforth -- some will challenge it, but the Astoria continues to deliver.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was poor...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Food is OKAY TYPE and service was poor. I know it was a Saturday busy night but still i am paying for my food and i need some attention from my server. What ever, just paid the bill and left. Not sure if i am coming back again or not.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food - Tasty | Price- Expensive | Service-Sub Par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Overall - I was a little disappointed with the overall experience.

My wife, 10 month old daughter and long time friend just had dinner at Astoria. My friend recommended it, so I was hyped to try it out.

We arrived at 5:15pm (daughter sleeps fairly early, hence the early dinner time) and I was a little surprised that it was not completely empty at that time... so a good sign.

Waiter seemed extremely uninterested. Fair enough. We ordered the taramasalata, calamari and saganaki to start it off. The saganaki was on par with other good Greek restaurants. The taramasalata was well below average and even the pita bread was unappealing. The calamari was the worst I've ever had. It did not have the light batter that is pretty much traditional with other Greek restaurants (even from the not-so-good ones)... it looked like it came from out of a frozen McCain's bag... AND deep fried with the oldest/dirtiest oil that one could find.

The GOOD thing was that we ordered the lamb souvlaki and lamb chops. Both were very well cooked and tender etc. The rice and potatoes plus salad were on par with the better restaurants.

Overall, I would not go back as there are dozens of better Greek restaurants on the Danforth that are as expensive and less... with better quality - than the Astoria.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“My favourite in Danforth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have had dinner here many times. Beef soulavki is delicious!! Service is great but the greek potatoes are just ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lrreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoria Shish Kebob House also viewed

 

Been to Astoria Shish Kebob House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing