We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food but Noisy Guests”

Wayne Gretzky's Toronto
Ranked #432 of 8,847 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Description: Playing host to Wayne's personal collection of memorabilia, Wayne Gretzky's Toronto is in fact three places in one. The upscale dining room has a unique décor which highlights Wayne's greatest moments, where our guests can enjoy great food and great, friendly service. The winning sports bar boasts over 20 HDTV's showing all sports, all the time. The fabulous Oasis Rooftop Patio is as individual as the restaurant, and welcomes guests to relax under the sun and stars from May to October. We are only a block and a half north of the Dome, so we are the perfect spot before, during or after the game!
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were seated against the back wall, a large party well on it's way with wine were very loud which made it hard to talk at our own table. Staff were doing very little to minimize the noise, however once they left, we enjoyed a quieter meal. Love the gluten free mushroom pasta, really balanced dish, enjoyed the flavor. Thanks

Thank Michelle1958Kenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob V, Social Media Manager at Wayne Gretzky's Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Also glad your were able to finally enjoy a quieter meal. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 576 of 769 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went there for brunch, waited 30min for our food and they weren't very busy. The pancakes come with berries, no syrup. We asked for syrup and were charged for it which was kind of ridiculous considering we had waited so long to get our food and shouldn't syrup be included with pancakes??? Also my entre salad was hot, meaning the food obviously sat under the heat lamps for a bit. The eggs were overdone. Definitely never going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob V, Social Media Manager at Wayne Gretzky's Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hi M M,

Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we take every review seriously. We thank you for your honest review. Here's a personal note from our GM Adrienne,

"Thank you for the feedback. Our pancakes do come topped with a mix of mixed berry compote and real maple syrup. We do charge a small fee for additional real maple syrup, as tasty as it is, it is a very expensive condiment. All of our sauces are portioned for orders, but it sounds like yours may have been more fruit and less syrup…which is arguably the best part of a pancake brunch. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food, and would very much like an opportunity to invite you back for a great brunch experience. Let us know if you are interested, and we will make your next visit a Great One!

Sincerely,
Adrienne Barnhardt
General Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

WOW, to the hockey fan, this is like the Hall of Fame only serving beer and cool food. Great pub grub, reasonable prices, located centrally in downtown Toronto near all the clubs, theaters. Worth the visit, poutine was terrific.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DHPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob V, Social Media Manager at Wayne Gretzky's Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thanks DHPaine! We appreciate that you took the time to write a nice review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The upstairs oasis patio is amazing. It has a waterfall and lots of different seating, like curtained couches to step-leveled benches and hightops. I've only been in the downstairs area once for drinks and it was nice. Not your average sportsbar.

Thank dq18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob V, Social Media Manager at Wayne Gretzky's Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We love the patio too! Can't wait until Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went to the restaurant tonight and the only thing I can say that is good about this restaurant is all of the memorabilia. Food made me sick, service was sold, and sound was delayed 1 minute from the game. Overall - Bad experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob V, Social Media Manager at Wayne Gretzky's Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi Matt,
Sorry you had a bad experience the night you came by. We had just finished renovated the place and, although everything was working fine before, something odd had happened with our sound feed unfortunately. If you're ever in town again, please give us another try and let us know when you're coming. We'll try our best to make it up to you and make your night a Great One!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayne Gretzky's Toronto also viewed

 

Been to Wayne Gretzky's Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing