We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go-to take-out.”
Review of Tacos El Asador

Tacos El Asador
Ranked #1,093 of 8,516 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
Neighborhood: West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West End
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My go-to take-out.”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I've been coming to El Asador for 15 years and I live nowhere near it. My craving for the crispy pork tacos, pupusas, cheese quesadillas and chorizo burritoes just never seems to go away. Love love love this place. I've heard those complain about the prices going up - to the best of my knowledge they've barely gone up since I've been coming here. Homemade El Salvadorian food for less than Swiss Chalet. So worth it. The guac used to be $5 and now it's $7 - it seems to rub a lot of folks the wrong way, but think of it this way - if avocados are almost $3 a piece and you're getting more than one in your dish, how much of a profit are they really making? Avocados are expensive in Canada...especially good ones.
My fondest memory: about 10 years ago, they ran out of avocados and one of the family members went jogging off to the market to make our guac.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadeleineGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I used to be a regular at Tacos El Asador and after a three year hiatus I went back a few weeks ago. How much things change and sometimes not for the better! The menu is slightly pricier than it used to be and the quality has really taken a tumble. I think the owners have changed because I didn't recognize any of the guys at the counter. We ordered the avocado and nachos, one hard taco, one soft taco, a pupusa and a drink and the bill came to $23 - which would be fine except for the fact that the food was bland and uninspired. The portions were also pretty puny. It's really too bad because going to this place used to make you feel like you were in Mexico.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Infinite_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Authentic feeling and tasting, excellent tacos, great value”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Went here for some cheap ($2) tacos. Decor was simple, nothing fancy, just as it should be. Tacos were excellent, a little less flavor than I would choose, but certainly not bland. Servers were very friendly. Great little tacos joint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing atmoshphere - GREAT value”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This place is amazing, such a great atmosphere, always busy, I felt like I was transported to El Salvador - you must go - very local, cheap, fun place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teenytroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the authentic food.”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Love the authentic food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissSailorJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos El Asador also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Tacos El Asador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing