We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service. Good food. Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Thailand Restaurant

Real Thailand Restaurant
Ranked #1,306 of 8,401 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service. Good food. Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Service was friendly and fast. Food was good but not special. Price was reasonable. Do recommend it if you want a quick meal or takeout.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KhalidA697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very friendly service good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant was busy even at 9 pm. The waitress was friendly in suggesting items to try. Food service was quick. I had a shrimp soup of types. I believe it was #71. It was recommended by the waitress and was quite tasty. I did order a whiskey and seven after dinner, it had a scant shot of whiskey. I would definitely try it again.

Helpful?
Thank greenwalleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Thai in Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

While I would agree with some of the other postings that this place is a bit on the expensive side, it's not more expensive when you compare the menu prices to other places. However, the portions are often a bit smaller. They use standard industry containers for take-out orders and some times you wonder if you accidentally got somebody else's leftovers that they wanted to take home, instead of a full serving. LOL

The food though is consistently great. Probably been there 50 times for dine-in and take-out and we'll be back as long as the experience and quality continues on the way it always has been.

In all the times we've been to Real Thailand we only once had an issue with a missing item---just an order of sticky rice. When we called they were horrified that they made a mistake and took care of it right away. Great service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
353 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“this place is by far our favorite Thai Restaurant in Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We discovered this restaurant many years ago and we have returned there for dinner and lunch several times In fact a visit to Toronto is not complete without another meal at this place Nutritionally this place is large enough to be a gem for inviting people, Located near Spadina and almost next to a fruit store This restaurant is a wonderful place for eating good food. We have enjoyed eating so many dishes and ordered several times mango salad and payapa salad at the same time. The soup is well worth your time. I suggest the dishes that feature fish or chicken. The lunch menu is especially inviting. Cold drlnks with iocal brews and Thai tea are also among are favorite things to drink. Drink refils were free at the last time we were there. The upper level of seating along the railing is a good place to view people. We often get the same waiter to serve us. There is a calm ambience and quiet atmoshpere to make yours stay for dinner rewarding. We discovered this excellent restaurant for the first time for lunch two or three vacations ago over Christmas and then springtime visits to the city walking tours are well worth your time if they include a meal at this restaurant. Cultural connections with the homeland are there to remind you why you came there in the first place. I assure that you will not be disapppointed. Prices are affordable and reasonable and the portions are adequate and large in many cases. Service is good and the management does an exceptional job to make good food available I recommend this place without hesitation.Sume time eating can be enhanced by ordering food and eating it here. Air conditioned for summer time pleasure.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiudoLocattelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had the shrimp cakes. Tasted a little off. Three hours later my wife is up all night driving the big white bus. Oil was rancid. Didn't finish them and suffered as a result of even trying them. Never again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Thailand Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Real Thailand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing