We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paddy's Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of P.J. O'Brien Irish Pub & Restaurant

P.J. O'Brien Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #515 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paddy's Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went with a group of friends for Paddy's day this year. It was a great time, we were all in green, the band was fabulous and the owner stopped by to have a shot of Jameson's with us. It is one of the best places to experience Paddy's Day in Toronto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtproductions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pub, so-so staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I liked this place enough to go back. Well, okay, let me clarify... I really like beer and a non-pretentious, easy place to drink. This place certainly fits the bill. Good for the 30-something crowd or older.

Staff were nothing spectacular. Not bad, but just ho-hum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A solid Slainte!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a favorite for Joe and me before we go to the cinema. Always for lunch, we arrive anticipating the lively whirl of daily specials, whether the meats or the fish or the soups. We have never been disappointed with these - particularly the fresh fish - but if not so adventurous the menu items are well- and consistently-prepared. In that respect, the Saturday Brunch is highly recommended, but otherwise the mussels provencal and smoked salmon salad are tremendous, though the crab cakes are to be avoided. In the mains, the beef and Guinness stew is quite good, as is the fish and chips and corned beef and cabbage. Again, disappointment will be met with the shepherd's pie and any pasta you order here (this should not be a surprise). While as Irish an experience as you can get in Canada, that is secondary to the food, atmosphere and service at a place I frequent with me mate. Just remember that after about 11:30 am the front bar and table are largely reserved, and by noon it is packed for lunch, so arrive early or take your chances.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khufu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location, friendly staff and a perfect pint of Guinness! The food is always delicious with great sandwich specials.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not Much Of A Good Time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Came here after leaving another so called irish bar and this was a total let down as well. They advertise live music on the weekends. We arrived saturday evening and all that was playing on the radio was washed up 80's bands. No live entertainment, no irish music. Service was average and the food was just ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeepmancrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.J. O'Brien Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to P.J. O'Brien Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing