We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A French bistro feel in the heart of toronto”
Review of Marcel's Fine French Restaurant - CLOSED

Marcel's Fine French Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: Between John & Peter Streets
Transit: Immediately accessible to the King Streetcar. A few short blocks to the St. Andrew subway entrance.
Description: The Best of France under one roof!Situated above Le Saint Tropez, Marcel's serves award winning French cuisine since 1984. Specialties include grilled venison with lingon berry jus; roasted rack of lamb with rosemary-juniper reduction; fennel seared Atlantic salmon filet with passion fruit beurre-blanc and daily specials. Classic French desserts include crème brulée and profiterole au chocolat. The space is bright, airy, with large mirrors listing daily specials and soft classical music wafts overhead. Perfect setting for business lunches and romantic dinners. Unpretentious, professional and impeccable service. Exclusive selection of fine wines, many by the glass.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A French bistro feel in the heart of toronto”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A pre theatre meal. i had the mussels and rack of lamb. my partner the beef tenderloin. a good selection of wines to wash it down, both French and local. the bistro has a warm intimate feel good for a romantic meal and the waiter was excellent. overall an excellent experience. not cheap at over 170 dollars for three courses plus a good bottle of wine...but worth it. As a night out with a show it made a memory that will be with us long after the cost is forgotten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelSadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    17
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If we are to be regulars at any restaurant, it must meet our standards in three areas, namely, location, service and food. Marcels satisfies all three very well. It is located in the heart of the theatre district, within easy walking distance to all of Toronto's leading performance venues. The servers are amongst the city's most efficient and friendly. Finally, the food is of the highest quality, reflecting the gastronomical delights of various regions of France. We will keep coming to Marcels as long as it continues to maintain these standards.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Rude waiter but food was good.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked dinner for 4 of us as part of an hotel, theatre and dinner package offered by Mirvish Productions (we were seeing War Horse).
I phoned to make the reservation and told them, as required, that it was part of the package.
When we arrived we got a rather offputting reception from the staff which became even more bizarre when the waiter introduced himself. He was quite rude (one of the worst I have ever encountered) but he was so ridiculously rude that we had to laugh. I simply said that one of our party was vegetarian (and there was a veg option so no problem). One of the party asked that the meat come without the accompanying sauce....not really a complex issue but one that seemed to inflame the waiter. I am usually very sympathetic to the plight of wait staff (having done the job while I was a student and I really do understand why they get upset with rude customers) but there is no excuse for this level of rudeness at the start of an evening service and without any provocation whatsoever. My guests were from England and this was their first time in Canada. Fortunately they had had good experiences at a restaurant in Stratford and theyrealized that this was not the norm in Canada.
The menu options were just fine....with the package you have restricted options but there was still a good choice and the food was good and the restaurant has a nice bistro type of atmosphere. What a shame about the wait staff!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hamilton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eh....”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went to Marcel's before seeing Warhorse, and while the food was fine, it wasn't especially memorable, particularly when considering the price. The service was very, very good, and the food was good, but when I'm paying as much as we did, I am hoping for "amazing!" and I can't quite say that. I'd suggest going for a higher ranked restaurant on Trip Advisor and just walking to the Princess of Wales Theatre for Warhorse.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyuntae88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dining in Le Saint Tropez”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a most enjoyable meal in the more casual restaurant of the two on offer. It is great to sit outside and have others have commented watch the many people go by. Enjoyed a bottle of wine from the Niagara region, an area we had visited the day before, listened to the lovely voice of the young lady, Mildred, who plays the piano and sings on I understand Mondays and Thursdays. Service was good and the food tasty, we chose the 3 course special for under $30 which was a good deal. We can recommend and would return. Close to the theatres so ideal for pre or post shows.

Helpful?
1 Thank islandwoman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel's Fine French Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing