We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good atmosphere”

The Badali Bar and Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
The Badali Bar and Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 8,439 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: University
Transit: We"re located "kitty corner" to Toronto's Union Station on the north west corner of University and Front Street We are very close to both Union and St Andrews subway stations.
Description: The Badali Bar and Cucina brings the taste of Italy to the heart of Toronto's Entertainment District. We invite you to join us for fine Italian fare, sustainable seafood, in house made desserts and true Italian hospitality. Whether you join us for a hand crafted cocktail and a sample of our cicchetti menu at our 40 foot bar or for a sit down meal in our piazza grande with colleagues, friends or family, we will welcome you with open arms into our home. Situated just steps from the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, some outstanding downtown hotels and local sports arenas, we strive to exceed your every expectation form your first minute with us to your last. Located in a heritage building we would love nothing more than to host you in the splendour of our surroundings and show off our good fortune. From the exposed brick walls, original hardwood floors and 16' ceilings, to our outstanding wine list, craft beer selection, and hand stretched pizzas, there is much to enjoy in our home. Come spend some time with us in our family owned and operated restaurant and see for yourself the difference a little love can make.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a huge restaurant near the Convention Centre. Service was good and food was plentiful. I'd eat here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BTRtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    274
    137
    71
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“very good tiramisu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went there after dinner to have a dessert, Their tiramisu is very rich. We will return and try their regular meal menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2travelhonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Although they had lost our reservation, it wasn't a problem because the restaurant was not overly busy on the day that we dined. We were seated in a booth on the patio, which was terrific on a sunny, early summer's day. Our waitress was friendly and attentive and the service was professional and quick but not rushed. Joe Badali's is a nice restaurant with a good menu selection and the food is quite yummy (with perfect serving sizes; not too big and not too small). We all enjoyed our meals and I will return if I ever find myself in the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a great Italian eatery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

After visiting the CN Tower, we wanted to have a nice meal....we picked a perfect place. Joe Badali's offered a relaxing atmosphere and very appetizing spaghetti. Our server "Teen" was wonderful. We would definitely visit Joe's again at our next day-trip to Toronto.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellaroo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Joe Badali's is my favorite go to spot for lunch. Never a problem getting a table, wonderful service, and conveniently located close to where I work. What is amazing is that their prices are what you would pay in a fast food restaurant, and yet each dish is prepared to order. Excellent pasta dishes, fresh salads, and a very extensive menu. In the Spring, a beautiful outdoor patio area for an al fresco meal is a must. For dinner, a reasonable and wide selection of wines makes a family dinner a memorable event. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryG265802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wube G, General Manager at The Badali Bar and Cucina, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
If there were two words that sum up what every restaurant owner and manager strives for when they open a restaurant, "consistently fabulous" is it.
We are humbled by this unsolicited review and deeply grateful for it.
We offer a wide variety of fresh pastas, panini and pizzas along with with daily specials over the lunch hour at a great and inclusive price point.
We understand that not everyone has an expense account and that many workers in the downtown core find themselves eating preprepared meals and unhealthy beverages in the annals of their office tower.
For the same price as a stir fry combo platter and diet coke at the nearest food court, we offer freshly prepared pastas and hand stretched pizzas with full table service, the opportunity to order a healthier beverage and a nice environment in which to enjoy your meal.
Escape the office tower basement and join us this summer with your office colleagues during the Summerlicous restaurant promotion when we will be offering a freshly prepared three course meal with choices for $15 plus tax.
We look forward to hosting your meal and thank you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Badali Bar and Cucina also viewed

 

Been to The Badali Bar and Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing