We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy but good, fast and inexpensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginger Restaurant

Ginger Restaurant
Ranked #1,264 of 8,405 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good, fast and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Ginger specializes in Vietnamese food. Its menu includes a large range of pho, appetizers and rice or noodle based dishes.

Orders are taken and paid for with the food prepared to order and then brought to you at your table. Service is quick and prices are cheap. This is basically fast food, asian style.

The place is very busy, especially at meal time and tables can be diffcult to find at times.

There is another resaurant across the street serving similar food and just as good, but at a higher price. There are always lots of tables available there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FullCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    40
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for vegeterians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was in Toronto for few days, so not very familiar with Ginger. Went in craving Thai food, I was definitely in wrong place. I had Pad thai, green curry and mango salad (all vegetarian)- none of them were good :(

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quick fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

In a hurry? Food couldn't come quicker and all really good. Very good value for money considering this is downtown. I had the chicken noodle soup. Really filling and fresh.
Highly recommended for a good lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rossf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese food in Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Convenient location near the Bloor/Yonge street intersection. Pretty good place for a tasty meal at fast-food prices. Many customers do a take-out, seating space being so limited. Most dishes were C$7-8, and we enjoyed the grilled meat (pork, chicken, beef or shrimp) on rice or vermicelli. Service is minimal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PettRuss8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just went to this restaurant and enjoyed the experience. The food was very good, the service was great and the prices were reasonable. This was our first time to this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We will be returning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Restaurant also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Ginger Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing