We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, but the noise was irritating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gallery Grill

Gallery Grill
Ranked #1,611 of 8,439 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,401 reviews
782 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
“Great food, but the noise was irritating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had lunch here with two friends. I had grilled arctic char; my wife had the shiitake turnip cake. Our guests each had the roasted sea scallops. Everyone agreed the mains were excellent. My wife and I shared a Hart House Farm maple syrup crème brulée, a dessert to die for. The service was generally but not always attentive. On the downside: the space is austere and tends to reflect sound. The table next to ours had a large family party with several noisy young children, who detracted from our pleasure. Restaurants of this kind should probably keep out children under twelve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice caterered event with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

We hosted an event at the Gallery Grill for our authors and it was a successful event. The catering staff, lead by Jerry, was very efficient and super friendly.

Helpful?
Thank virago7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not your typical campus cafeteria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

When heading for a brunch at a campus “grill,” you might be excused if you steel yourself to experience a slightly upmarket school dining cafeteria. Expect much, much more from the University of Toronto’s Gallery Grill.
The Gallery Grill décor exudes the friendly but professorial pomp and circumstance of an ivy league faculty club. This gem of a grill occupies a section of the second floor and overlooks the Great Hall of U of T’s famous Hart House, with all its Neo-Gothic architectural splendour: stone façade, stain glass window, oak paneling, Italian travertine and tudor timbering, and just oozing with history and academic elitism. Don’t miss the caricatures of former profs embedded in the arced windows on the left side of the gallery.

My wife and I have in the past enjoyed chef Susanne Baby’s “lunchtime lotus land,”as Toronto Life once described it, and were enticed to try it again after reading a near raving review in our daily newspaper. We both opted for the Tarte Flambé, so ecstatically described by the reviewer: an “Alsatian flammekueche, complete with caramelized onions, lardons of Berkshire bacon, an olive oil fried egg and Benedicine Blue.”

It was indeed excellent and far more…um, precious, even shall I say elegant… than the many examples of flammekueche we sampled on a recent visit to Alsace. In Colmar and Strasbourg, and even Freiberg in nearby Germany, we found the Flammekueche less pretty, but far more robust, hardy and ample. In our experience at least, this dish is not typically bedded on an every-so- delicate flaky pastry, nor garnished with citrus scented greens. But yes, it was delicious, and although I thought myself still hungry at the finish, my wife thought the portion was just perfect, thank you.

She conceded, however, that the dessert of apple strudel, with “miso caramel-pecan ice cream” was a bit…understated? We normally have found dessert portions large enough to share, but in this case we engaged in a polite combat over the final crumbs, as delectable as they were.

We will certainly return. Soon. I don’t remember back in our school days ever being tempted on campus with such delicacies as roasted arctic char, spicy pear, beet & Kimchi salad, with roasted almonds; home-made pecorino biscuits with orange & sunflower butter; or sorbets of wild blueberry, Meyer lemon, roasted pear & Benedictin blue, rhubarb & apple.

But then, I endured the disadvantage of attending Ryerson and York Universities, rather than U of T. Our culinary -- if not our academic -- expectations were much more modest then.

One alert though about this delightful grill: check the wine prices before you order. We thought that the two carefully measured five-ounce servings of Cabernet Franc at $28.00 plus tax and tip was good, but somewhat steep.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VladToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great food and a great atmosphere. This is a nice place for lunch (Monday to Friday).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanuckfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A sophisticated lunch in a university restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Gallery Grill has a sophisticated menu in a university restaurant. I had the cassoulet which, although heavy on beans, had good pieces of chorizo and rabbit in it. The arctic char was expertly prepared--a little pink. The chocolate cake was a delightfully sinful dessert. The service was prompt and accurate.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmlynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Grill also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Gallery Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing