We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good pre-theatre menu”

Fred's Not Here Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fred's Not Here Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: John Street
Transit: Subway: 2- minute from St. Andrew Subway Station.
Description: Casual Bistro located in the heart of Entertainment District specialize in wood grilled steaks & lobster. Certified Angus, USDA Prime and Ontario Dry Aged Beef grilled over Canada"s first commercial indoor hickory & oak fired pellet char-broiler
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“very good pre-theatre menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hadn't been at this restaurant in a while -- seems like the menu has changed to more of a steak & seafood restaurant and it's very good. Great options and reasonable prices for fixed price pre-theatre menu. Their famous lobster soup with the puff pastry "hat" is very tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    156
    58
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bad choice for birthday dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I ordered the ravioli and it was very disappointing. it was a huge dish but lacked good flavor. it was bland. i opted for this place as i read a reviews and it seemed to be ok. try la fernice and verona. far better choices.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tessa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definitely not Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went for dinner and was disappointed in the service and the food. We were sat down and waited for 10 minutes to have a server approach us. We had to ask for a glass of water( I thought they brought this automatically) The food was slow in coming, and overcooked, but as time was pressing, we didn't send it back. The table was not set firmly so it moved spilling water and drinks, when we mentioned this the waitress jammed cardboard under a leg, but you still couldn't rest on the table without it moving. I used to enjoy going to this establishment yrs ago, but it surely has declined.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank redcommsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Many choices but the best choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

King street has many choices but we were lucky someone recommended Fred's. It was walking distance from our hotel and we had made a reservation, which I recommend. The lobster bisque was so well done. The top crust was baked perfectly. The seafood risotto was excellent. With a pleasant taste and the rice was cooked perfect. My friend had the brisket and she said it was very very well done. A great find among so many other gems.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FCtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed just around the corner on Wellington (Marriott Residence Inn). We walked by on Sunday morning and checked out the menu. We decided it would be worth a second look on the way back to our room that evening. We reserved on OPEN TABLE. Our table was ready on arrival. We both choose the Two Course Dinner. It included a starter and steak choice with a side of vegetable (asparagus). Also included was a side of fries. (Actually duck oil frittes) . My wife got a salad and I got the signature baked bisque. Both were excellent. The steaks are wood fired. I got a sirloin, and the wife got a strip. Both were moist, tender and cooked a perfect medium. For my birthday they surprised me with free dessert.
A must try!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fireman9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Not Here Restaurant also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Fred's Not Here Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing