We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality at a reasonable cost.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub

Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub
Ranked #3,757 of 8,405 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Get the proper pub experience. We balance Irish-inspired dishes and North American classics. We’ve perfected the pub staple, Fish & Chips, and make our pies and pastry in-Pub. Try our fresh burgers like the legendary Guinness® Burger, with your pint of Guinness® of course!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality at a reasonable cost.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The staff seemed happy with their work and this came over as a friendly attitude. While I accept that we were a party of 8 (6 adults and 2 children), and they were fairly busy, the time between placing our order and receiving it could have been shorter.
I would not suggest, for one minute, that this was a deliberate ploy to encourage us to order more drinks - but we did.
Their menu is quite diverse. One of the meals was ??? (sorry cannot remember the meat) and cabbage. When it arrived the cabbage was exactly that - a cabbage cut in half. It shows that you must read the menu carefully because what it says on the menu is exactly what you get.
The staff were friendly and the costings reasonable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shir_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    53
    35
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trent Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Cold Beer and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

OK, the beer is bit overpriced, but the food and service is great. The atmosphere is nice. Very traditional. For a quick lunch with excellent daily specials, this is a good spot.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
643 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I am not a big fan of faux-Irish taverns here in Toronto. They all seem made at the same factory. And thats OK if all you're after is a cold beer and bland-but-acceptable pub grub. Sports on big screen TVs (plural), sweet young things dressed in kilts (keep up the image brand) plus indoor/outdoor seating. Having a live guitarist entertaining outside might be unnecessary and even unwelcome for those trying to unwind in peace after a long work week. I am done. The end.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We happened upon this place while exploring the area around our hotel,being a lovely day we sat outside,great for people watching.
I don't like seafood or chicken so I am often short on choices but here the opposite was the case & I was spoilt for choice!
Eventually my Wife had the lamb pie,the picture in the menu is a bit misleading as there were nowhere near as many mushrooms as in the pic but she found it delicious nonetheless,I had the corned beef & cabbage which I also thoroughly enjoyed,service was great & the prices very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon break for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stopped in with some friends from Ajax and enjoyed such visit. Buddy and I both got the Club sandwich. Prepared well, an quite large, it was interestingly presented on a flat wooden platter. Tasty! The ladies both had fish and chips, and reported them to be above average for pub food. Service was a bit slow, as if they were understaffed due to the Blue Jay's game starting later that day. Manager probably not keeping tabs on the MLB game schedule would be my guess. Not quite enough servers for a pub that size when a rush hits. Still, fun place, good food, and prices, though on the expensive side if you were not downtown, were average for being there. We'd go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AttorneyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Fionn MacCool's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing