We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good as usual, REAL JAPANESE & best tempura!”

Ematei Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #630 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good as usual, REAL JAPANESE & best tempura!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went here for lunch and food was good as usual, tempura is still one of best in Toronto, in my opinion. Real Japanese restaurant run by some who actually speak Japanese, which was treat for my Uncle visiting to have real conversation about life and ended up our server knowing his son, which was very nice. :)

Food a bit slow to come,but nothing too bad,it was busy.

I am not sure if they still put wasabi in all sushi (not for me), but for lunch, one of best Japanese restaurants in the city.

I am not saying I only like Japanese food form Japanese people but it is rare in Toronto. One place I usually like as well not run by Japanese is called GUIREI on the harbourfront/queens quay area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Four of us went on 2013-09-04 for dinner. My Japanese friend recommended this restaurant. We were not disappointed. We order a few interesting dishes. The food was excellent. My uncle who was a chef said the food was good.

We ordered the Gyu Tan (beef tongue, $7.50), Gindara Kama Daikon (black cod neck, $7.00), Nabeyaki Udon ($13.50), Matsu Sushi dinner ($27.00), Nasudengaku (eggplant with sweet miso sauce, ($7.50) (our favourite), Una-Q Roll (BBQ eel, $6.00), Spicy Tuna Roll ($6.50).

We were very happy with all dishes. I would have never eaten a fish neck before but the it was worth the risk (our waitress recommended this dish when we asked for a recommendation).

Please have a look at my photos associated with this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ckchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good taste and ambiance”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My friends and me visited this place last weekend and we really liked the service and decoration there. We tried some sushi and fish there. we liked the sushi and i think fish was okay okay. we then tried some shrimp and chicken related items.We ate both cooked food and sashimi and I have a feeling it may have been the raw fish.
I find the prices quite affordable. You can find people from all the places here as now a days sushi is getting famous. One should visit this place for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love their Japanese hotpot!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although a little pricey $70 for 2 people, their miso hotpot was delicious! The serving portion was more than enough for 2 people and the service was good too. Will definitely go back to try other dishes in the future

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuqian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Got food poisoning here!!! :(”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Ive been here a couple of times before and has a pretty good experience but last time I ate here I ended up getting really sick the night I came home. We ate both cooked food and sashimi and I have a feeling it may have been the raw fish. Service always seems a bit slow here too. Won't come back again after that experience!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunseeker1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ematei Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Ematei Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing