We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edo

Edo
Ranked #4,823 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Eglinton Ave W & Avenue Rd
Description: EDO was first opened at its original location in 1986 in mid-town Toronto, serving authentic Japanese cuisine. Although sushi became the most broadly known and accepted part of the menu, prides itself on its full offering of traditional Japanese flavours done in a contemporary style. EDO also conducts cooking classes, which include the making, history, etiquette and culture of sushi. Chef Specials include Oh-Makase (Chefs’ Choice) with advance notice and Kaiseki for special occasions.
Toronto ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Went to Edo for Winterlicous last week. We had a great time. Had a complimentary amuse, and 4 courses (app, sushi, main, dessert). The food was great, and the servers were knowledgeable. They also had drink specials as well which was a nice addition. Definitely plan on returning.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGMTorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

we went her for a birthday family dinner. the sushi was so beautifully presented and delicious. i think edo is my ne favorite sushi restaurant in toronto. the service was equally efficient and prompt. great job all around to edo

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank marciag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
228 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Wonderful Japanese food in posh surroundings - a real 'night out'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was in Toronto in May, and took cousins out to dinner. I love Japanese food, both sushi and cooked food, and EDO, and its sister restaurant, EDO-ko, are wonderful for both. My cousins, who live not 10 minutes drive away from EDO, had never been.
We were 3 adults and 3 teenaged picky eaters (all girls). Everyone loved the food, and took home what they couldn't finish. The portions are very generous. One thing I like, being Jewish, and not eating shellfish (or pork products): the sushi is in two lists - fish with scales and fins (kosher fish) and others. It facilitates ordering sushi. I love their spicy tuna shushi, with crunchie tempura bits. The flavours and textures are so wonderful. The chicken yakitori is wonderful, as is the beef wrapped around green onions. Well recommended.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BunclodySenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Food is good but service is poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We made a reservation for 4 for a family reservation
We arrived 5 minutes early. The women at the entry desk did not greet us, but just stood there waiting to seat the people ahead of us. After about 5 minutes another couple came in and went ahead of us to the desk and started to talk to the hostess. At that point, I had to but in and indicate that we were there for our reservation. The hostess then found us an unset table and seated us. We then waited a full half hour and finally I asked for some water, as I was very thirsty and had developed a headache by that time. We were almost ready to leave when the bar tender offered us drinks. Finally the waitress took our order about 1 hour after our arrival. The food as usual was very good. We have been several times to Edo. Always find the food good, but the service is hit and miss and depends who you get. It is not up to the caliber of the food or the prices. The management should pay some attention to their front of house or they will start to lose business.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

i am never disappointed at this japanese spot. really great sushi, fresh and great service. Always bring you fresh tea, and the salmon here is like butter.

will be back again and again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jordanafeasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing