We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent after all these years”

Dufflet Pastries Downtown
Ranked #15 of 140 Bakeries in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Free Wifi, Takeout
Neighborhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
Description: Eat More Cake! Dufflet Pastries is regarded as Toronto's source for fresh baked desserts. Along with signature cakes and confections, plus wedding and celebration cakes, all 3 Dufflet café locations offer a selection of light lunches, specialty coffees and beverages for eat-in or take-out along with gourmet chocolates and confections. Dufflet-Downtown and Dufflet-Beach are open 7 days a week, Dufflet-Uptown is closed on Mondays.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Still excellent after all these years”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The cheesecakes are amazing + I'm not even a cheese cake fan! Both butter tarts and pecan tarts are sublime. I have never tasted a less than delicious cake here, however coconut is still my favourite. The Queen West location is the best and they'll make you a cake for pick up with only 24 hours notice. You get what you pay for. Not your basic cheap, chemical and sugar-laden grocery store cake; you'll never buy a grocery store cake again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    69
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sweet tooth cravings”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I used to work as a baker during the summer as a part time gig at the main factory by ossingon back when I was in highschool/college so I know their ingredients used were always fresh. Its been years since i wore their baking uniform, 7 to be exact but I always get their pecan and chocolate glazed tarts whenever I get the chance, its simply delicious

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ch0pstickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“French without tears”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The overall standard of patisseries in Toronto is pretty dismal ---- with one shining exception. Dufflets have a sort of cafe at both extremes of Queen Street and a 3rd at Yonge St in midtown that I have never visited. None are easy for tourists to get to, but their products are mercifully available at a number of grocery stores and coffee shops throughout the city, and this is where my acquaintance with these delicious creations has been forged. Most of the Second Cup Coffe outlets offer a representative selection. Dufflet products range from the miniature to the gigantic: from small hand-crafted chocolates all the way up to the largest Wedding and Birthday cakes. Their delicious medium-large layer cakes with sumptuous fillings can be bought whole in supermarkets, or by the $4 slice in coffee shops. Lower priced items such as superbly iced cup cakes and well filled tarts of fruits, nuts, chocolate and lemon curd are as French as they come. Cookies and Nanaimo bars condescend to the native Canadian sweet tooth. But their exotic pastry-sized creations are genuine works or art, rivaling the products of the top flight French and Belgian patisseries, and reaching the standard of the gourmandises with which you are likely to end your meal in a 3-star Michelin restaurant. Purity and authenticity, as well as freshness of all the ingredients used, are the springboard for their success, and given their addictive flavours, they never hang around long enough to raise the concern that they might go stale. Finally, the manufacturer's price schedule is easy on the pocket for what you get . It is wonderful how little some of the most sinful pleasures in life need cost you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I love cake!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The only thing I ever order in Dufflet's is cake and coffee. I like the chocolate raspberry truffle cake and have even requested this one for my birthday cake. The coconut is my second favourite slice and it's big enough to share if you're feeling especially gluttonous. I like going Wednesdays with a friend for the twofer which makes it even more satisfying after show shopping! I've been to all the locations and my fave still is Queen West. I hate it when folks call it Doo- flay. It's pronounced exactly how it's spelled.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just happened upon a great cafe/lunch spot!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped into the children's bookstore next door to Dufflet and decided to grab a bite to eat. Funky eating are at the back with lots of sunshine! Good sandwiches, not a bad latte and a great dessert selection! Staff was also friendly and enthusiastic! A fun spot for a quick bite in the Beaches!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dufflet Pastries Downtown also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Dufflet Pastries Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing