We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brazilian restaurant wanna-be”
Review of Caju - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caju
Cuisines: Latin, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brazilian restaurant wanna-be”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice ambience, but very limited menu. Food was well presented and tastefull, but what they called "picanha" wasn't a real picanha. It didn't look like it, nor it tasted like it. A bit pricey too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FabriciaBLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“My introduction to Braziian Food”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We were taken there by our Brazilian friend and he ordered for us a selection of starters. I especially like the Bolinhos de Bacalhau. I love bacalao anyway. The Pasteis, a bit like a mini empanada, was delicious as was the grilled chorizo - not the same taste as the Spanish ones. I don't think the Brazilian/Portuguese ones have paprika and is less spicy. I chose the Feijoada as my main course and it was tasty, although I expected the flavour to be deeper. The Lombo and the Moqueca both looked appealoing. They make their own chili sauce which was devine! I would have been quite happy to take home a few bottles !! No room for pudding, unfortunately ... The cocktails were very good !

The service was excellent. The waitress didn't come over every 5 miuntes and say "how're you guys doing?", whcih made a refreshing change. She just make sure we had what we needed and left us to our dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pibochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent food !”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We visited Caju for Winterlicious. The codfish cake appetizer was quite mediocre and lacked any flavour. The mains of Bobó de camarão and Feijoada were decent , but lacked the flavour we were expecting.
The dessert of creme caramel was good , but the dark chocolate banana mousse was devoid of any banana flavour.
Service was poor and the ambiance noisy and impersonal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie_3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stands out - unique fusion food that's a bit extra”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This place seems to pass under the radar, as it's on a quiet stretch of Queen St West near Trinity Bellwoods Park. It is, however, a delight to the palate.

It's supposed to be "Brazilian-fusion"...and for someone who's not sure what that is...well, it delights. The area has plenty of Italian, and now (surprisingly) French, restaurants, so it represents a truly different taste for the local diner.

DO go and try this place if you're looking for a new spot. If you, much as we did, have no idea what Brazilian-fusion is supposed to be, then you will be pleasantly surprised and delighted.

The seafood and especially whatever's on the special menu that day will probably be great. Really, think about it, if it's a special of the day then the chef sourced whatever was fresh and great that day...so do yourself a favour and try it. One of my standby favourites (cashew-crusted chicken) seems to be missing from the recent menu lately, but with the variety of daily specials available that's okay.

Good for couples and I've seen the place accommodate some decent-sized business groups (or just friends with an occasion), so they're fairly flexible. If it's packed, the bar area is fine in the warm weather, but not in the winter (too many cold breezes from the door that close). If you have well-behaved kids, then this will work okay during early dinner hour, but probably not later on (the kids will likely be whiny and hungry)

Service has been anywhere from utterly fantastic to meh...it literally depends upon who you've got that day and how things are flowing. Generally, though, it's fairly good. Beer on tap is fine too.

Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Caipirhinas & Feijoada . . . all that's missing is the beach.”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Upon our return from a visit to Brazil, we searched for a restaurant which could take us back to Brazil with a Brazilian influenced menu. With the majority of these options being various uninspiring churrascarias throughout the city, we thought all hope was lost ... until Caju. Located in the Queen Street West zone around Trinity Bellwoods park, it offers an upscale dining experience with a menu of Brazilian dishes. Decor is minimalist and modern with a small bar area and dining section in the back raised a few steps from this bar area. Slick in a way one would find in restaurants in the Leblon and Ipanema area of Rio.
We started with our favourite Brazilian cocktail, the Caipirhina – prepared in the traditional way, but lacking in lime, ice, and cachaca content – the server actually neglected to add the cachaca first, but then arrived later to top up the glass which brought the drink closer to what it should be. Okay, perhaps it was because we weren’t sipping it from a rooftop pool overlooking Copacabana in Rio. She was, in fact, the only server that evening tending to a number of tables but did ensure that we were looked after and never felt neglected. An effort could have been made by the chef/owner to meet and/or chat with the clientele – that kind of customer service, particularly in these economic times, goes a long way in bringing back customers.

We opted for appetizers of:
1. Bolinhos de Bacalhau – cod croquettes which were a bit dry and bland on their own, but most flavourful when dipped in the tangy lime cilantro sauce;
2. Camarao – shrimp sautéed in garlic and served in a red pepper and passion fruit sauce – again, the pairing with the sauce made the dish and we took up the server on her suggestion of extra bread for dipping into the sauce – yummy!

Entrees were:
1. Picanha – the grilled sirloin steak was cooked to order, and both tender and generous in size. Sides were cassava chips which were crisp on the outside and tender on the inside and the traditional farofa, which I must say was even better prepared than what we’d experienced in Brazil – much less like sawdust! The finely diced peppers and onions added both colour and flavour to the dish.
2. Feijoada – a typical Saturday afternoon meal of beef, pork and sausage slow cooked in black beans and served with rice, greens, cassava chips, farofa, and a slice of orange. This is the dish I came for. Although the slow cooked bean and pork stew arrived in a separate dish, more could have been added to the presentation by serving it in a traditional clay pot – perhaps not in keeping with the upscale, modern decor however. The stew was thick and rich with numerous pieces of moist meat; the greens could have been more flavourful. A very satisfying and rich dish, I simply couldn’t finish it all – not for lack of trying however.

Overall, we enjoyed our experience at Caju. The dishes, in particular the Feijoada and the Caipirhinas came very close to what we had loved in Brazil . . . perhaps the only thing missing was that spectacular beach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing