We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lively and reasonable spot at the corner of glam and fab”
Review of Trattoria Nervosa

Trattoria Nervosa
Ranked #62 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Midtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A lively and reasonable spot at the corner of glam and fab”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A great location in the heart of Yorkville with an easy going but sophisticated vibe happening as early as 6 PM (we had event tickets for later in the evening). The space is smallish so you might get bumped around a bit by servers or other diners, but the menu is reasonable with lots of choices for under $20 – not very common for this part of town. And the wine list has lots of flavours in the $40 neighbourhood. I recommend the Nervosa Caesar salad and the fish specials were popular at our table of six. My pasta was just so-so, but at least not overpriced. We skipped dessert but the espresso drinks were smooth. The staff were prompt and unobtrusive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    149
    62
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A noisy delight”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We wanted to try somewhere different in Toronto's Yorkville area before attending a concert. We decided to give Trattoria Nervosa a try. A strong hint - even though it was Thursday evening, it was already packed when we arrived @ 6. So, reserve your table! This is not a good "first date" spot, unless you're communicating through sign language. It is a noisy restaurant, so be prepared to speak loudly and clearly to your dinner companion. The food makes up for this culinary cacaphony. My partner enjoyed the Carpaccio di Manzi and I savoured the Oricchiette alla Barese, which featured a nicely spiced crumbled Berkshire sausage that highlighted a solid sauce. Service was attentive, although our waiter had his hands full with a full set of tables to care for. The concert time drew near, so we didn't have time for dessert, but our dishes gave a delicious introduction to their menu. We'd definitely go back next time we're in the Yorkville area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Quaint and Inviting Restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just walking by this "Yellow House on the Corner" invites you in to give it a try. It's small and rustic and has an air of authentic Italian cuisine, complete with Italian language on the menu (which proved to be somewhat confusing) The selections are typical Italian favorites and we enjoyed splitting a salad and a pasta. It was enough food for the two of us, as It began with some enjoyable bread. The wine selection was fine. The servers are efficient (but that's all!) It's a good stop for a simple meal, but I couldn't rate it any more then "average" as that was all we experienced out of it. Nothing bad, and nothing really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InsightfulWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chef Taylor”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a great experience at Nervosa on sat night. The food was great, wine was perfect but above all was the attention that we received from the head chef.

When we arrived we had a couple of drinks at the bar awaiting our table. Chef Taylor was overseeing things and we got to chatting. He ended upon putting together a Chet's choice of appetizer's, mains and deserts for our table - we were not disappointed. His attention to us, despite being a typically busy sat night, was well appreciated.

When in Yorkville try Nervosa and ask for recommendations from Chef Taylor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dljmol_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant good apps bad mains”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is a nice little place, well decorated and a great patio upstairs. The melted cheese app was amazing but that's it! Pizza was subpar got to pizza pizza instead. Bread was awful, spaghetti was avg meatballs wee like subways meatballs. Not expensive but not cheap there are way better places than this. The service was the worst part they don't care about you just your money !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Nervosa also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Nervosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing