We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Byzantium

Byzantium
Ranked #946 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fun bar”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Loved coming here for cocktails and occasionally a bit of dancing with friends. The place gets really busy on weekends and is a lot of fun.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank andreweggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The food and the service and the ambiance were all fantastic. We are so glad that our innkeeper recommended it and will definitely return the next time we visit Toronto.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BGElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but...”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place has great food, drinks, and ambiance. The service is outstanding, but there is a big but. We had 4 different people waiting on us. All good individually, but the sum of the parts was a disappointment. We never felt like one person was interested in us. One waiter even asking if we wanted dessert after our entrees. Give me one waiter and we're good to go.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cpassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good go-to standard”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have dined here many times. I've never been disappointed by the food or service. Great vibe with the long martini bar, interesting people watching, friendly staff and management that's actually in the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanBGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Cesar salad in Toronto”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

One of my favorite Toronto restaurants but had not been here in a couple of months. Came here with 4 friends Sat night & was meet with the friendliest hostess, Stephnie, a great beginning had some amazing bottle of red wine, always a great fresh wine selection here.
Past menus have been a bit short on vegetarian selections but it has improved, the 4 seasons pizza is great & the chef will take special requests & I had the pasta & requested spicy. It came overflowing with fresh vegetables & a spicy sauce which would make any spice lover cry with delight. We finished off with creme brûlée.
On w/e's at 11pm the walls separating the dining area from the long martini bar open up & a Dj cranks up the music for the mostly trendy gay crowd & their straight girlfriends.
Best martini's on Church St, oh I forgot to mention the best cesar salad in Toronto.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank canadiantraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantium also viewed

 

Been to Byzantium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing