We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chaat and curry!”
Review of Babur Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Babur Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good chaat and curry!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had golgappas to start with, they came pre-filled, a bit on the heavy side but very tasty. Then lamb rogan ghosh which was tasty, with aloo gobi and daal makhani. All tasted just right.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Possom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Modern decor, delicious food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Babur's decor is smart and engaging. Exposed brick walls, wood floors and clean lines. An interesting juxtaposition to the traditional cuisine. We started with vegetable samosas which were delicious - the pastry was light and crispy without being greasy. The butter chicken is superb, the rice dish with apricots, peas & cashews - equally tasty. We opted for the garlic naan - heavenly. The beer was cold and the service was friendly.
It's a bit pricier than most Indian restaurants but worth every penny. We left feeling like we'd had the best Indian meal we've experienced in Toronto.
This was our second visit to Babur - we'll be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy-to-BeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Taste of Heaven on Queen West”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Babur puts a modern twist on a traditional Indian menu in a beautifully renovated modern space. It's conveniently located on one of my favourite stretches of Queen West. The food at Babur is beautifully prepared and flavourful without the greasiness found in many Indian restaurants. Each dish has a unique identity and their butter chicken is in a league of it's own. On several occasions I have left feeling I'd had one of the best meals I've ever eaten

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_London_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner in an unusual Indian”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Babur's decor is nothing like the traditional Indian restaurant, being sober and minimalistic.
When it comes down to food Babur offers one of the best Indian food I have tried.
Flavor is smartly achieved - subtle, eben in the spicier dishes.
A must.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CesarRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Butter Chicken”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Having read other reviews, we decided to give Babur a try. The mulligatawany soup was delicious and the vegetable samosas were good. The rogan josh and chicken saag were satisfying but the butter chicken was the real star - the best we have ever had! Naan bread was very tasty and the kheer (rice pudding) finished off the meal nicely. It is a bit more pricey than some other Indian restaurants but the quality is high, the sevice was great and the Kingfisher beer was cold!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zekibey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babur Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing