We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of 93 Harbord - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
93 Harbord
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The restaurant is a bit off the beaten track, but the trip is worth it. The food was beautifully prepared and excellent quality. Service was really good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in an area of very good restaurants”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The response to an inquiring phone call (not a reservation request) was that they "would certainly have room" for us if we came in an hour or two. Many places would have pressured for reservation. We did wander over that way and decided, after reviewing the menu outside, that it suited us well. The welcome continued once seated, with attentive and friendly service.
The menu had something for everyone's tastes in our party of four--most of us had lamb shank or tagine (described by Jamie Oliver as "stew with attitude")--and we were guided with useful suggestions.
Everything was first-rate and we were happy to have ended up at 93 Harbord.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wjames5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal here”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent food. The flavours pop. You can't go wrong with the lamb. Small plates are great to share.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdventureswithLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Dishes, Excellent Service And Ambiance”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I’ve been a few time to 93 Harbord and the food was always flavourful and quite delicious. When I saw their Summerlicious menu, I had to try the new dishes.

On weekends they have double seating, 6:00 PM and 8:30 PM. Overall, the experience was excellent! From the moment I made the reservations to being greeted and offered the scrumptious dishes, the staff was consistenly friendly and attentive.

I started with the Fatoush salad; a melange of fresh romain lettuce, cucumbers and tomatoes in a citrus dressing and topped with crispy sumac covered pita wedges. It was a truely perfect combination. With my friends sharing dishes, I was able to try a bite of the Zaalouk, an eggplant and chickpea dish which I also found that to be excellent.

For the main, I had the Grilled Fillet of Salmon, which was a succulent dish. The combination of the perfectly grilled salmon, orange tahini sauce and the crispy roasted almonds was wonderful. My friends ordered the Ontario Lamb Tagine, which they said was mouth watering and a must try.

And let’s not forget the dessert. We had the Pears and Walnut Stuffed Phyllo, Honey Date Drizzle. The crispy exterior yet warm taste was a perfect choice at the end of sumptious meal.

This place is very charming with a pleasing ambiance. I love the exposed brick wall, which displays works by local artists.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is my second time at this restaurant - both Winterlicious and Summerlicious actually. Both times I had their infamous tangine lamb and it does not disappoint. Servings were a bit small (which is the case at most summerlicious venues - not sure what their regular menu portions are like) but really tasty. Definitely I have to go back when the the festival is over and try the regular menu.

Wait staff were attentive but allow for privacy. Ask for ice water as the water is tepid otherwise. Atmosphere has a rich feel to it which makes the experience feel even more special.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzsunnyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing