We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Cluny Bistro

Cluny Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Cluny Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 8,576 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Welcome to Cluny Bistro! We're Distillery District's entry into the wonderful world of French inspired food with a modern twist. With a fun, casual atmosphere featuring vibrant music and breathtaking design, we're not your parent's French Bistro! Chef Paul Benallick has applied his knowledge and expertise to offer our guests an exciting, non-pretentious menus reflective of France's modern food movement. The menu begs you to share items with the table, allowing you to try the many amazing flavours presented. From Salt Cod Donuts, Roasted Duck Poutine, Spicy Salmon Tartar, and of course Steak Frites, the menu will call you to visit over and over. Cluny's Patisserie will indulge you with our house-made macarons, profiteroles, crepes, and homemade bread still warm from the oven. The Cluny Bistro recipe includes 1 big, crazy dream, 11,000 sq. ft. of beautiful space designed by Munge Leung Design (Canada's top hospitality design firm), 250 lbs of world-class, Canadian-born Chef (who loves to eat what he creates), 100 caring hearts from our hospitality team, 1 elite management team, and a dash of creativity and playfulness! We hope you visit Cluny Bistro not only to savour our magnificent food, but also to enjoy the whole dining experience as a vibrant social event. We look forward to serving you soon!
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We tried Cluny this past Friday night, not really knowing what to expect. We heard only that it was a much different and modern take on French Cuisine. We were amazed and completely impressed by the whole experience. The space is gorgeous and every detail has been carefully thought out, from the custom plates to the decorative pieces to the furniture. It has the feeling of a French Bistro, combined with a Vegas style restaurant. The menu is creative, with a great selection of sharing items on one side and main courses on the other. We tried a few of the sharing items and loved the salt cod balls, duck poutine and spicy salmon tartar. For the mains, I had the biggest and best burger I have ever come across, while my wife had a perfectly cooked hangar steak. The prices are very reasonable. My wife's steak was $19. For dessert, we shared the soufflé, which was far and away the best we have ever had. The only negative thing I can say is that the room was loud and it was difficult to hear the music. It was very busy, so this may have been the reason for this. Overall, I cannot recommend Cluny highly enough. It was terrific.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaymieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El C, Community Manager at Cluny Bistro, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi JaymieB! Thank you so much for visit Cluny and for your fabulous review. We've taken a great deal of time to put together a menu and restaurant that is accessible and interesting so we greatly appreciate your comments. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    270
    107
    58
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We dined there on a Thursday evening so it wasn't crazy busy as it usually is on a festival weekend. The outdoor patio isn't finished yet which was a little disappointing as we had reserved a table in the outdoor patio when we called a week before.

We mostly had drinks and appetizers. The quality of the food was excellent and there are a lot of cool choices. some of the cheese selections were the smallest portions I have ever seen on a cheese plate. Served with a little honeycomb. Not worth the price. The rest of the dishes we ordered were great. The grilled cheese brioche was awesome as were the salted cod donuts. The ceviche was awesome and there was a decent selection of drinks.

We would recommend this restaurant in spite of the prices. We had fun and the wait staff was great. Another good alternative in the best district in Toronto.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwgrncrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El C, Community Manager at Cluny Bistro, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi rwgrncrd! Thank you for visiting us at Cluny. We have tried to keep our prices very competative for the area and high quality of food we pride ourselves in serving. We've passed your comments onto the management and kitchen teams as we are always looking to review. Thank you for the great review and we do hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Loved this restaurant, from the food to the service to the décor, everything was amazing!!! Best French Onion Soup I've ever had!!! Loved the fresh baked bread as well!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El C, Community Manager at Cluny Bistro, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi robyn s! Thank you so much for the great review and we're so glad you enjoyed your French Onion Soup! It's definitely been a customer favourite so far. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
“French Flare in the Historical Distillery District”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Cluny, the new French restaurant at the Distillery is a must go. The menu is unique and offers a variety of dishes to please everyone. I especially enjoyed the raw bar with amazing ceviches, oysters, and tuna tartar. My husband was thrilled with the frog legs and lamb dish. The decor is beautiful, right down to the carefully chosen dishes, Individual coffee presses, and fresh bread station. Service was friendly and efficient, and the prices very reasonable. Afterwards we went to El Catrin and enjoyed Mexican inspired cocktails on their very lively patio. Our waitress Brooke was such a trooper, and caved under the pressure and ate one of our 'salt and lime crickets'! A fabulous night! The distillery is alive and energetic and is a must go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El C, Community Manager at Cluny Bistro, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Michelle C! Thank you for visiting Cluny and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and to the Distillery District in general! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bon appétit !”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is my pleasure to be apart of the Cluny team! I've been working for the distillery district for a little over a month now, and I am still in awe of the decor and culinary options. It is very apparent that there is an abundance of love and passion for we do in every aspect from management to support.
Venez nous rendre visite!

xoxo

Jasmine

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El C, Community Manager at Cluny Bistro, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Jasmine M! Thank you so much for the lovely review! We're happy to have you as part of our dedicated team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cluny Bistro also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Cluny Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing