We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
Ranked #42 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several business trips over the last couple of years and in the past never had any issues of significance. This trip however was different! I was placed in a smoking room as they were busy, that was understandable. I went in the room, and flushed the toilet....it was plugged so I called down to get someone to look at it and was informed they would be up ASAP. An hour and a half later he did arrive with a plunger in hand. He worked for 20 minutes with no luck and then left to get a snake... I ordered some food and it arrived while he was gone and sat at the table and the bulb above the table did not work....I looked at it and noticed it had previously been torn out of the ceiling and was tied up with garbage bag ties and the bottom half of,the bulb was broken off. I ate in the dim room the guy finally came back I told him about the light and off he went to get a bulb after 2 trips he had it working and went back to snaking the toilet.mafter another 20 minutes i finally had Anouilh of listening to the noise and told him imwouldmbemsitting downstairs in the pub and if there were problems I would be there if he needed. I returned to my roof about 2 hours later (11:30 pm). Went into the bathroom flushed the toilet...it was plugged. Called down to the desk and to advise them and they said sorry but the guy could not fix it and asked if I would like another room !! At this point if was quite upset and said of course I would as I would need to use the toilet at some point! They hung up to see ifmtheynhad another room for me. I guess 90 minutes was not enough time to check when I was out. I packed all my belongings and had a knock on my door 15 minutes later with a key to a room 2 doors down. I will say the guy who came was very quite but once did say sorry..nothing else. By 12:30 am I was set back up, clothes hung etc. went to watch some tv...it doesn't work!! Next morning I checked out and advised them of my disappointment and was surprised when all I received from the desk clerk was sorry but can you sign here please!
This place is slowly but surely dropping in hospitality and over all condition. My co worker was in the night before and had problems with his tv....after an hour of them trying to "fix it" they finally went and took another one from another room!!! I think I know which room the broken went in!!!

This place is no longer worth the $140'per night!!! Weston, Sheraton will have my business again

Room Tip: Go to the Sheraton or westin just up the road and closer to the airport?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooseman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    234
    69
    33
    17
See reviews for
126
192
48
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Layover because my flight got delayed. The hotel however was very nice, clean, large room and comfortable bed. They provided free transport to and from the airport. The restaurant had a unique and fun ambiance and the bar tender was very friendly. I was very tired and in a horrible mood after my ordeal at the airport. The hotel staff and put me at ease and made me feel comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skye0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
550 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Noisy, elevator breakdown. Did get a 10 per cent reduction. Nothing special. Moxie bar OK. Will not be back. Air conditioning very noisy. This is a poor hotel. Cannot compete with larger brands. Would not recommend. There are better choices in the airport area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gorlinjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were here for one night at our airline's expense due to a missed connection.

We spent quite a bit of time in the hotel, but since we didn't have our luggage we didn't try out any of the amenities (gym, pool, etc.).

Our room was excellent. Not much of a view, but the room itself was very nice - a nice separate bedroom, nice, a kitchen, and a sitting area. Everything was clean and modern.

The shuttles to and from the airport were on time and the trip is only a few minutes.

I would recommend this hotel for stopovers. It's in the middle of nowhere so not a great place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was my 3rd stay here for a three day business trip. Too many things went wrong and will never come back. I'll list my complaints:

1. Checked in late on Wednesday. No one was in the lobby except the two ladies behind the desk. They looked at and them continued their private discussion that seemed to not be business-related. After about 3 min and noticed the look on my face was getting more angry about the lack of customer service, one of them actually asked me "Do you need to check in?". I thought long and hard about a sarcastic remark along the lines of "Me? No, I just like to hang out at hotel registration desks with luggage in tow." These people are obviously not that well trained.

2. After finally checking in and getting my key, I took the elevator to the 14th floor, walked to room 1409, and inserted the key. Red light. Tried it again. Red light, Switched to other key and repeated. Same result. So, I had to turn around and go back down to lobby to find out why the idiot gave me a key that wouldn't open the door. They were again talking among themselves, but I just walked up and interrupted them instead of waiting for them to acknowledge my presence. Explained the problem. Look on her face suggested she thought I was the idiot and didn't know how to use the key. She made a new set, handed it back, and turned her back on me to continue her conversation with no apology whatsoever. Took the elevator back to 1409 and key worked and opened the door.

3. I unpacked and then decided to watch a little TV before going to restaurant for dinner. Layed down on the bed and turned on the TV. There was probably 30-40 channels but every channel had no much electrical interference that it was unwatchable. It was like watching TV in in the 80s when the screen reception was bad. Since I have an electrical engineering degree, it was obvious the hotel used inferior cabling in the hotel and was picking up massive amounts of interference from somewhere. So no TV in my room during my stay.

4. I have a neck injury that requires icing 3 times a day. Picked up the ice bucket and went to the ice machine on my floor. Pressed the button for ice and nothing. Kept pressing the button but no ice dropped. I shook the machine real hard and could not hear any ice moving around in the machine. So it was broken. Took the bucket to the floor above and below me. Same result. Went back to my room and called the front desk. Asked her if ice machines were a service they supplied at the hotel and was told yes. I told her every ice machine I went too had no ice in it. Then, and this is classic, she asked me if I tried every ice machine on every floor of the hotel. I asked her if it was normal hotel policy for hotel customers to go looking for ice like it was an easter egg hunt. Her gave me a heavy sigh, said she would report it to maintenance, then just hung up on me.

The Sandman is one of the hotels my global corporation has contracted with for rates and is recommended to all employees to stay there. I filed a report with our travel services group about my experience and suggested they reconsider their decision when the contract is up. They agreed that at least the Sandman in Toronto needs to be looked into.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. They do not understand the concept of customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenverJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 30Nov as a stopover from Halifax to Provo. Airp-ort Shuttle service runs every 30 minutes and was on time for airport pick up and the next morning back to the airport. Check in was efficient and our room had 2 queen beds. We were on a higher floor and I expected to hear airport noise but we did not! Not much room between the one queen bed and the desk but we made do. Bathroom was small but functional. Room had a room safe which is a rareity for TO airport hotels!

Convenient to have Moxie's off the lobby area as there was no other close restaurant for dinner. Had a great dinner; waiter was exuberant! The gals who work here do dress quite sluttily...

Only complaint was I had was I had to search 4 floors with ice machines to finally find one which actually had ice!

Would stay here again if the price was as good as this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseAtBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were here for one night at Air-Canada`s expense as a result of a missed connection. We did not have much opportunity to explore the hotel overall but the room was very nice, clean and spacious with a full kitchen, sitting area and bedroom. We had a take away dinner from and ate a quick breakfast at the attached Moxies and used the shuttle which runs twice an hour to get between the hotel and the airport. Probaly best suited for business trips. Service was good although people checking in very late as we did may have difficulty getting food after midnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullMoon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Etobicoke
Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Etobicoke
Radisson Suite Hotel Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Residence Inn Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Toronto Airport
#72 of 136 in Toronto
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
Address: 55 Reading Crt, Toronto, Ontario M9W 7K7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#39 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alluring, inviting, and with a bold style that is distinctively modern, Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel is the ideal choice for travellers who want elegant, relaxed comfort at its best. Just minutes from Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ), this stunning property overlooks the gorgeous scenery of the Royal Woodbine Golf Course while also offering exceptional amenities. Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel makes travel easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Hotel Toronto Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing