We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Surprise!”
Review of Planet Traveler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Planet Traveler
Ranked #1 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I (we are in our 40's) decided to stay at this hostel because we used to stay at the one around the corner in Kensington Market (a very neat area of Toronto) but the other hostel has been going downhill for years..The Planet Traveler Hostel is fantastic, even for us older people...as the reviews say, it is quite clean, well organized, friendly, open and bright. For me the best thing was the 7am to 1pm free breakfast of almost any kind of cereal, toast, bagels, coffee, tea and fruit. Can't beat that! A tiny bit noisy for me but I always carry earplugs. We had a window over College street and it was fun to watch life happening...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 371 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've stayed in so many hostels in North America and in Europe; Planet Traveler is the best one so far. Great location, clean facilities, good breakfast selection, very friendly staff who actually took the time to give me the tour of the entire hostel, separate locker room at the entrance of each room (this is very smart, so that the late arrivals don't wake up the ones who are already asleep.), beautiful view of Toronto from the roof top, and nice atmosphere. Close to everything, like Kensington market. Thank you to Anthony, the owner, who hosted a free-pasta night for everyone at the hostel; it gave us a chance to get to know some other guests who enjoy travelling. Thank you everyone at the Planet Traveler for providing a wonderful place to stay! The next time I visit Toronto, I'll know where to book my accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakira2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've never stayed in a hostel... this place was clean, modern, and well located, right the Augusta entrance for the Kensington Market (Which is Toronto's cool hip open market.) The hotel is located on College avenue, near a convenient store that is open 24HR. the nearest intersection is Spadina a few blocks east..The staff here is very friendly and although they didn't have the room we have requested ( Private Room with a bunk bed) they immediately arranged to switched us... in the basement there is a public relax area with computers, kitchen, sofas, tables and chairs... very trendy and modern ( Ikea) They serve breakfast every morning ( lots and lots of cereals, bagels and bananas) there is laundry (free detergent) free local calls, etc, etc.... I really like here, the bunk beds are little noise, and the rooms don't have fresh air (meaning there is not windows that open) just an opening vent high above the door.. The private rooms share one bathroom which is again modern and well maintained. My first stay, I have to say was very pleasant. Not major complains. Thanks for the nice stay!!

Room Tip: Call them not email them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arteisfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Planet Traveler is an awesome hostel. Immaculately clean, very new and beautiful facilities; however the rooms are very small! Most of the staff are really lovely and give you a great tour when you arrive, but I found one of the girls to be a bit rude.
They organise a lot of activities, when I arrived (Saturday night) they had a free bbq on the rooftop, and I went on a pub crawl on Wednesday night which was so much fun and a great way to meet other people! They also have a good selection for breakfast.
The only downside is the location. To get to the centre of Toronto/waterfront it is a hike, and the subway system doesn't cater to the area the hostel is in. However, if you don't mind a bit of walking, it is fine.
Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyislost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was a great hostel and great place to stay. The place is immaculately clean and the staff works hard to keep it that way. They start with a friendly tour of the hostel (I give it a solid 93) and remain very helpful throughout with good tips on where to go for just about anything. Unless I mistook the manager, I found him to be friendly and engaging, though maybe he does fancy himself a ladies man--no grinding dance moves on the balcony or anything observed by me. There was a very interesting mix of people to talk to, and though it was 15-20 minutes from the financial district, it was in a neat neighborhood near Little Italy, bordering Kensington Market and also the University of Toronto. Hard to imagine a better place to meet interesting people or use as a base to explore Toronto,if that's what you are going for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I found this one of the best hostels I've stayed in, and this year I've been to a few! The facilities in the hostel were very good, with a good breakfast (vast array of cereals and bagels) along with fruit, tea and coffee. The kitchen was very well equipped and all of the appliances worked well. Wifi internet connection was a bit sketchy but it was available in most parts of the hostel when it worked. Staff very friendly. The view from the upstairs patio is really good and a nice place to relax in good weather. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, which was a little disappointing, but mainly because of it's size. The bunks were decent enough but not tall enough to put your big bag underneath which meant everyone's bags were in the smallish area between beds. That made the place feel quite cramped. There was a room downstairs to store extra bags like this but that felt a little inconvenient as you don't want to be always heading downstairs to get things out of your case. Good to have the option though. Heating and aircon in the room were good and it felt light. Also, the en-suite bathroom was very well maintained and a nice shower too! The room had a small entrance way (hall) that had the bedroom and bathroom off it with lockers for each bed. This was good as it was possible to leave the 'hall' light on when in bed and meant others coming in late didn't disturb those sleeping but could still see enough to get to bed. I think more hostels should go for that design. I gathered from others that stayed in twin rooms that the size was much better, but obviously you'll pay more for that. All in all, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in a private room at Planet Traveller while in Toronto for work. The room was basic, as is to be expected at a hostel (bed, mirror and lamp only), but was clean and the bed very comfortable. I shared a bathroom with guests in two or three other private rooms, which was always well stocked and clean. In fact, the staff seemed to be constantly walking around cleaning!

The free bagels and coffee for breakfast was a definite bonus and I wasn't bothered by the rooftop music at all - I could only hear it while on the stairwell. Kensington Market is a vibrant and interesting part of town - a 25-30 minute walk or short ride to the downtown area - but noise from a bar nearby did get a bit loud on a weekend night. The only other negative point was the shared fridge, which should have come with a health warning! This was not the fault of the staff, but the many people using it.

I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R2-D4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#56 of 138 in Toronto
1,563 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 138 in Toronto
731 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Traveler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Traveler

Address: 357 College St, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: $33 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Planet Traveler Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing