We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettably delectable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Byblos

Byblos
Ranked #13 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown West
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unforgettably delectable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had an amazing culinary experience at Byblos. We were visiting Toronto and carefully selected this place after a few hours of detailed research on Trip Advisor. Before we arrived, I called to confirm the dress code. Usually I bring enough variety to go to any type of restaurant. But for some reason I failed to pack what I considered would pass for "business casual". Nevertheless and with some trepidation, I arrived in smart jeans, a sweater and flip flops. Not a problem....there were several other couples in jeans! This place is not pretentious. What it is is small, tastefully decorated with an eclectic vibe. We hardly looked at the menu instead relying on our server who was oh so comfortable in choosing several "small" and a few "large" dishes for us. More on service later. We started with a fresh tomato, goat cheese salad that was an explosion of flavour. We then were treated with the "lamb ribs" with buttermilk sauce and carob molasses. Mouthwatering. We then were treated to the BC mussels that were drenched in a spicy sauce with couscous. Our final dish was the dried aged ribeye floating on a creamy concoction of butter and eggplant. Honestly, it was the best ribeye I've ever eaten. This was coupled with the seared cauliflower roasted in duck fat and tahini sauce. I can't boast enough about the amazing flavours in all of the dishes. This restaurant has perfected the art of plating and delivering little portions of heavenly delight. Dessert was scrumptious too. Service at the beginning was spot on. Our server was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Near the end, the service dipped a bit. Almost as if the server either took a break or was busy somewhere else in the restaurant. However, this did not dampen our experience or will it detract from our desire to return in the near future. We will be back!!!! [Dinner with appetizers and 2 glasses of wine affordably priced considering the taste was $150.00,]

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    103
    37
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“A breathtaking dinner - one of the best restaurants in Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We've eaten at some great restaurants, but this is my new favourite in Toronto. Everything about our visit was absolutely perfect. We ordered five dishes to share, which seemed about right for us. The two small plates (eggplant and beets) were wonderful, even though I'm not typically a fan of red beets. They were served with the restaurant's barbari bread, which is fabulous on its own merits.

The larger dishes we ordered were the Cornish Hen and the aged ribeye. The chicken was very good; the ribeye was over-the-top delicious. You could make a meal of this alone, it was that good (and that substantial). But probably my favourite of the plates was the brussels sprouts side dish. Oh. My. God. I can't even explain how good it was - my husband and I almost got competitive making sure we got our fair share of this dish. ORDER THE BRUSSELS SPROUTS.

The dessert menu was so awesome, I had to ask the server for help. In the end, my husband and I ordered the Crispy Qatayef and the Yogurt Mousse Cake to share. I'm running out of superlatives for this review, but they were both fabulous - the qatayef consists of four little fried pastries with a cream filling, and the mousse cake is studded with pistachios and covered in a heavenly Persian-inspired cotton candy. Because I love to bake, I'm very picky about the desserts I eat in restaurants, and it takes a lot to impress me. Both desserts impressed me, a lot.

Beyond the food, the staff was wonderful in every way. Our server was charming, friendly and very helpful. The young men who delivered the plates explained every dish as they brought them over. And when my husband was using an iPhone app to see what music was playing, one of the women at the door noticed and offered to check the playlist for him. This was followed up by a man in a suit (possibly one of the owners?) coming over to talk to us about the playlist.

In short, this dinner was one of our best restaurant experiences ever. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Still thinking about how amazing this restaurant is - from its decor to the passionate and knowledgable staff to the FOODDDDD...it's a perfect 10!!!! We love their small portions with bursting flavor, sophicated culinary style of plating....we were surprised that 3 hours had flew by when our average dining time is usually 1 1/2 hours!!! Definitely looking forward to returning!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great service and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Had read many reviews about Byblos. The restaurant lived up to its reputation. Amazing food and outstanding wait staff. Atmosphere was great and decor was fabulous. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryanmahaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Best Meal of my Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went there with high expectations, and they were exceeded in every way. The server, his name escapes me, offered to bring our group different appetizers and entrées for our group to share. He made amazing choices, and I was very impressed with how easy he made it. For this quality of food, it was reasonably priced.

Also, this is located near Second City, so it was a great pre-show meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pvtmulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byblos also viewed

 

Been to Byblos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing