We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable value for this price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Ranked #82 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable value for this price”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Stayed in building that is separated from the main building. Looks new or newer, all contemporary design. Flat screen TV, rain shower, granite countertop, espresso-colored furnishings. Really felt like a more upscale hotel. The rate on the sign visible from the highway was $5 lower, but once we saw the room we were happy to pay the extra. Fantastic value for budget travelers to Toronto. Free wifi and parking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tccc12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    36
    15
    19
See reviews for
31
57
27
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I've been traveling on a budget quite a few times and this is by far the best quality/price ratio I've encountered. Be sure to ask for a room in the new non smoking area. Bring your laptop to enjoy free wi-fi internet access. Very friendly staff. Don't pay 35$ CND for a taxi ride to the airport, use their shuttle service for 5$. A few convenience stores in the vicinity, including a bigger Chinese food store. Go there, buy a little food and stuff the mini-fridge. Use the micro-wave to reheat pizza left-overs. A short bus ride (#123) will take you to the nearest metro station (Kipling). Big shopping mall at a walking distance. Cable TV with a lot of channels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _d4ve_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2008

If you are a non-smoker be sure to ask for the new non-smoking only block just to the east of the main building. Situated between Evans Ave and the Gardiner Expressway, the location will be a bit noisy for light sleepers. The rate was okay for it's location in the city (CAD$69 + taxes). My room was equipped with a tub-sized shower enclosure but no tub and a very large secondary shower head that dripped freezing drops when the normal wall-mounted shower head was used.

I used this motel to stay for a friend's funeral. I wouldn't recommend it for a stay longer than a couple of nights. Single guys will have no trouble with it but couples and families can certainly pass this one by...

  • Liked — Location within the city
  • Disliked — Build quality of room, strange plumbing fixtures.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wardo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

I wish I would have stayed somewhere else in Canada to see if this really is the best value. I payed 71.99/night even though the sign outside advertised rooms for 69.99/night. The clerk said it was because I had a previous reservation. Now that's value! It is a modern motel with most of the things you would expect. Mini-fridge, microwave, coffee in the lobby, hair dryer, HBO and wireless internet. It is located right next to the QEW but I got a room near the front so noise wasn't a problem. What I didn't expect was half a Molson in the fridge, someone else's socks in the drawer and crickets in the room. There may have been wireless internet but I never got the right log-in code from the staff. On the map the motel appeared close to downtown Toronto. It's not and there is nothing within walking distance. There is a brand new American style Mall and some strip mall shopping with McD's and Walmart and some other various mega chain food outlets. All of which are close by car near Queens Ways road.

It certainly was not the worst motel, but I question if it was the best value.

  • Liked — Free HBO
  • Disliked — Crickets in the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, WV
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Where do I start?? After reading the reviews here and hearing good things from family about some Americas Best Value Inn, I booked 2 nights. We arrived in Toronto after being on the road for 14 hours. When I pulled in the parking lot I was a little concerned. Just didn't look like a great side of town. I got out of the car and noticed the bullet proof glass at the check in area. In my mind I am still remembering all the good reviews I had read. Trying not to judge a book by its cover. When we got to the room I had to put all of my weight against the door to open it. The room was a good size.

It smelled pretty musty.

Sat down on the bed and almost went to the floor. NO SUPPORT. My husband laid down on the other side and rolled right into me.

The toilet seat had to be held up while going to the bathroom.

The AC unit was nasty. When I went to turn the knob it came off in my hand. Couldn't figure out why it was not working, then my husband noticed it was not plugged in.

I called the front desk to inquire about the free wireless internet. I immediately began looking for another hotel.

When I found some other "deals" on the net. I went to the front desk to ask for a refund.

I don't know where to start. The clerk at the front desk said we had been in there for an hour, she can't refund my money. She went on to ask if the room had been "USED". UMMMM did we.....?? Nope had spent the hour looking for another room. I was willing to try another room in the hotel, but the clerks attitiude just got worse and worse. She wanted to inspect the room before she would give us a refund. When she followed us to the room and the bed was not in disarray, she continued with the attitiude. When we explained that we were tired and a good bed was one of the top priorities, she asked if the bed was the only problem.

Horrible customer service, not great location. Will not stay here again and will warn anyone I know heading to Toronto to not stay here!

  • Liked — Free internet access (so I could find another hotel)
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trugrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

I was really pleased to have found such a friendly, clean and above all well-priced hotel. All the Staff, were very very efficient, friendly and professional. If I needed anything it was there immediately.
No fuss just efficiency.

I will be travelling to Toronto again and it is here that I will stay,
I stayed 4 days in this hotel and left feeling like one of their family.

THANK YOU.

Beverley Proemper

  • Liked — the friendly staff and the very clean rooms
  • Disliked — where it was situated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while awaiting our return flight to the UK. The room was very clean with a microwave and fridge and satellite TV. The bed was quite comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. There is high speed free internet access in the lobby area and the shuttle bus to the airport is very reasonable. This is not the Hilton or Sheraton but if you want a clean quiet place to sleep near to public transport, this is it.
RKL Chesterfield UK

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank morse999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Etobicoke
Stay Inn
Stay Inn
#62 of 136 in Toronto
247 reviews
Scarborough
Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview
Etobicoke
Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Etobicoke
Comfort Hotel Airport North
Etobicoke
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
#105 of 136 in Toronto
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Address: 650 Evans Ave, Toronto, Ontario M8W 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#38 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto, NEWLY RENOVATED. Offering Brand New Business and Kitchenette Rooms. We provide a variety of guestrooms.Our location is unbeatable - easily accessible to public transit and major highways, within walking distance to local attractions like Sherway Gardens Shopping Centre, restaurants and just minutes from MasterCard Centre for Hockey Excellence, Toronto Pearson International Airport and Downtown Toronto. Additionally, there are a wide variety of places to dine ranging from fast food to fine dining, the option is yours. When staying with us, We Offer COMPLIMENTARY• Calling within Canada• Light Breakfast (Grab & Go)• Movies• Parking• WI-FI• 24 Hour Coffee and Tea Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing