We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grim experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Ranked #79 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A grim experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I suppose arriving at the same time as the pest control people didn't help but this really is a shabby place.
We actually managed to get a room at the Hilton, Niagara Falls for the same price. Enough said.
I won't go into great detail as you would be bored to death by the end of the list.
Just give it a big swerve or sleep in the car.

One shining light was the night receptionist who was really helpful.

Room Tip: Only if you are desperate....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan4013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy U, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I do apologise for the unpleasant experience. The property now, is going through a complete renovation and available for guests to rent as of March 1, 2014. We'd love for you to return and give us another chance.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    37
    15
    19
See reviews for
32
57
27
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We wanted a clean, quiet room on the west side of Toronto for a low price. We didn't expect much for $79. There are 2 buildings and our room was in the newer looking annex, across from the main building with the lobby. It was rather plain and poorly lit but once inside our room we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was small but very clean and nicely decorated - much nicer than many. The bed was small but very comfortable with lovely bedding. Similarly The bathroom was small but lovely, and recently renovated- tile floors and walls, glass shower doors and a rain head shower. A small fridge and microwave were provided although we didn't use them.
They advertised a continental breakfast was included but we found a Panera restaurant just off the Queensway, near Sherway Gardens and had a delicious meal.
In short the room was clean, small, small bed, recently renovated and small bathroom but you won't find a nicer room in Toronto for this price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nani54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy U, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Excellent feedback, thank you so much for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the shadiest hotel I have ever had the misfortune of finding. After reading the reviews, my expectations were low, however all I needed was a clean bed and shower and the location was convienient. We are business people, we do not look like thugs yet when we arrived at the hotel and had to show ID before even being able to get into the lobby. The reception clerk did little to make us believe the place was safe. The entire place had me second guessing and as a result we put it down as a mistake and abondoned our paid for rooms and headed elsewhere. Unless you are travelling on a a student's budget and the hostel if full - stay away!

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

After a long and tiring drive from Montreal, my friends and I just needed a place to sleep so we looked at some reviews and decided on this. Mainly because its cheap. We got there and the rate lit up outside doesn't match the rate you are told inside. For reasons of tax is fine but this was something to do with availability. There was only one room left so the promo rate displayed outside isn't valid. The Indian lady at the reception was very firm about the rate. It was late and we were tired so we settled with it for CAD90 and picked up some Chinese take out flyers at the counter. We were considering between the 2 pretty looking picture ones out of the 3 and decided to ask the Indian lady for her recommendation. She pointed out the ugly looking flyer and strongly suggested it was the best. My friend and I looked at each other and thought "oh well, perhaps we shouldn't get caught by the pretty pictures", called and ordered from the ugly looking flyer. BIG MISTAKE! Worse Chinese take out ever! Sorry I side tracked a little. The room was spacious, the housekeeping lady sprayed it with some kind of liquid to eliminate the smoke smell but it left wet patches on the carpet, bathroom had a damp smell and the air vent wasn't working 100%, the free wifi was weak and the only spot we could get the signal was if we stood outside the toilet door! I'm not sure if it was because we were so exhausted or were the beds really good but we slept well. Over slept actually.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My bf and I used this Inn as a crash spot while visiting Toronto. The first thing I noticed was how clean this hotel was. I think the building we stayed in might be new or recently renovated, it smelled like they shampoo the carpets daily and the building smells new. The bedroom room is VERY small, but modern; excellent showers and comfy pillow-top beds. I'm happy they provide nice smelling body wash (full sized) and not those cheap small hotel bar soaps. Another plus is there's a gas station in the same lot as the hotel which is very convenient, shopping mall, Dollarama (in case you forget your toothpaste or whatever, you can pick up stuff for $1-$4 without having to pay a fortune), 15 mins from downtown Toronto (Rogers Centre). Advertising "continental" breakfast is misleading (no eggs and bacon here). They offer free coffee and small croissants, which most doesn't really look appetizing. I only had the coffee.

Tips:

-15mins from Downtown Toronto and 1hr from Niagara Falls

-Parking is pricey downtown if you do know where to find it. The first day we paid $22 to park all day at a parking lot between Bremner bvld and Lakeshore - skip this..go to Bay st, the municipal parking is $8 all day for sure on weekends - im not sure about during the week, I didnt look. I do recommend a garage, because i believe we were on King street at you have to feed the meter til 12am! I don't know if it's a common thing with most streets around there.

-Toronto doesn't really have much its in the up and coming process- there's a lot of boat rides and dinner boats, but you can go to The Steam Whistle brewery - free tours everything 15mins and free sample beers. The food is really good at the food truck outside.

- Saturday and Sunday there's a lot of festivities going on on Dundas Square; dancing, singing, and other performances.

- Try to get your day started early. Most places downtown closes at 5pm and 6pm, this took some getting use to coming from new york city where bars and such closes at 5am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Classified_Info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy U, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time and sharing with us, a very detailed review. You've made many points that will help other travellers. About the breakfast, we do not promote Continental Breakfast. Only Light Breakfast. As you know, we do not have much space to offer more than we do now. But offer assorted croissants, pastries, cereals, juices, coffee and tea's. Just something light to get the day going. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was cheap to say in, and doesn't look great from the outside. But don't let that put you off! The staff are very friendly, rooms are a decent size and there is free Wi-Fi, parking and coffee. The room is basic but assuming you are going to be exploring Toronto you won't be in it very long. The only downside is that you need to get the bus to the Subway station (although it is included in the ticket price) first. It takes approximately 1 hour to travel to Union Station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy U, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you Mr. Sean for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I arrived in the morning, the room where still not disponible, so we left our suitcases at the reception. The receptionist told us that smokers rooms where on the 1st floor.
When we arrived in the night they gave us an smoker room, so I asked for a non smoker, the receptionist told me that room was for non smokers, (the morning´s receptionist told it was for smokers, and it´s smell very bad!!) he sayd that they where no more rooms, we checked on internet and they were still disponibility, I told that to the receptionist and he says not possible, but we checked in different reservation websites and they were... so I complained about the situation, it was hard to sleep there because the room smell really really bad :(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gateta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy U, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Canada's Best Value Inn Toronto. I do apologise for any inconveniences you may have experienced. I will definately look into this and if you would like to further discuss this, please contact me at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Etobicoke
Stay Inn
Stay Inn
#62 of 137 in Toronto
250 reviews
Scarborough
Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview
Etobicoke
Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Comfort Hotel Airport North
Etobicoke
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
#106 of 137 in Toronto
277 reviews
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Address: 650 Evans Ave, Toronto, Ontario M8W 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#38 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto, NEWLY RENOVATED. Offering Brand New Business and Kitchenette Rooms. We provide a variety of guestrooms.Our location is unbeatable - easily accessible to public transit and major highways, within walking distance to local attractions like Sherway Gardens Shopping Centre, restaurants and just minutes from MasterCard Centre for Hockey Excellence, Toronto Pearson International Airport and Downtown Toronto. Additionally, there are a wide variety of places to dine ranging from fast food to fine dining, the option is yours. When staying with us, We Offer COMPLIMENTARY• Calling within Canada• Light Breakfast (Grab & Go)• Movies• Parking• WI-FI• 24 Hour Coffee and Tea Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing