We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I chose this hotel because of it's close to the Roger's Centre. It was clean and our room was spacious. The room had a kitchenette and a large bathroom. As noted by other reviewers, there is a complimentary hot breakfast and we had to wait to be seated. The line moved quickly but it was tough for our son to wait in the line in the lobby. Overall great stay and will return again

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Shel0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

We picked this location due to its proximity to downtown for the purposes of watching a Blue Jays game at the Rogers Centre.

Check-in was speedy and we chose to use a nearby overnight parking lot instead of their valet service. The staff was friendly and explained all the benefits to the hotel on arrival. They offer an evening social hour with appetizers on some evenings.

The room was spacious: queen bed, pull-out sofa, deck, chair and with kitchen amenities.It was modern and quite appealing.

We opted for using the hotel breakfast (630-930) in the morning but since we arrived at 900 it was very busy and our family chose to use a neighbouring breakfast facility instead.

Overall, the stay was enjoyable. My only complaint was that the elevators were very slow and the bedding/ mattress is not the normal Marriott products I am accustomed to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coondog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is so well located for tourists to Toronto. We walked from the train station and saved money on a cab. We also walked to the ferry for Centre Island and to the Harbourfront. The CN Tower and the new aquarium are almost a jump away they are so close. Every room comes equipped with a kitchen which is perfect for those wanting to save money on meals, eat healthier rather than eating at restaurants all the time and also those with food allergies as you can prepare your own meals. There is a free breakfast which was busy, but ample and you can take the food up to your room. Some evenings there is also a free appetizer. The pool is fine and there is a hot tub. The beds are really, really comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. Any issues were dealt with promptly. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top two or three floors will guarantee some kind of view, otherwise you might be blocked by another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Takizakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only stayed one night in this hotel, but it was absolutely beautiful. The room was clean, modern, and quiet. I didn't realize we would have a suite and it was gorgeous.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The beautiful, young lady on the front desk, Michella (sure I didn't spell that correctly) was so helpful, and we were in the middle of everything. You are within walking distance of tour buses, food, the Blue Jay Field and so much more. We felt like we were at home from the minute we stepped into the lobby to the minute we left. Loved the valet parking of the car. It made things really easy. We weren't able to stay long, but if we are ever back in Toronto again, you can be sure we will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank svl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Would I stay here again? Yes, it’s a good base to get around from.

So this is a nice hotel and breakfast is included with the price. It also offers free wifi throughout the hotel.

Look out for the welcome nights as well, we arrived to complimentary tapas at 6pm – a great start to the break.

So the rooms where clean and spacious – I have to say at this point, that owing to a mix up by our travel agent, the hotel upgraded our room to a double bedroom apartment – so thanks for that, it was really appreciated. The décor of the room is more traditional than some hotels, but still clean and well maintained.

There was a small issue with housekeeping that had to be reported 4 times – twice to the same person. However, eventually resolved and a bottle of wine to compensate. Having said that, the staff were all friendly, polite and helpful – they also had a good knowledge of the area.

So location wise, it is conveniently located for the main attractions and within a 3-minute walk to the Blue Jays ground, CN Tower and aquarium.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back can be dark, due to restricted daylight - so if this is a problem, then get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We really appreciate your review and our team were elated with your kind words as we continually strive for 'Service Excellence'! Comfortable surroundings and a location in the heartbeat of the city has all the ingredients for a successful break as you experienced.

Being a gateway city parking is always a preminum, however we do have four other laternative choices steps away from the hotel.

Thank so much ofr being with us and I hope we can have the welcome mat out again in the coming months....you are our passion.... in true Marriott spirit!

Wishing you safe travels!

With gratitude, Karen

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown was a great stay. I was in town to celebrate Caribana weekend and The Residence provided a great location to make traveling around the city very efficient. Taking the level of activity that Caribana brings into consideration, The Residence did the biggest favor by extending their buffet breakfast time by 2 extra hours. It provided a solid start to the day with a full menu of food and drink.

I would not hesitant to stay there again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonFrancis914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Jason
Just heartwarming to read your review as the Caribbean Festival is one our favourite times of the year, in our culturally diverse city! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us, as we are always aiming for 'service excellence' and that we provided 'Service so Memorable' for you! The wonderful harmony every guest purveyed in the hotel this weekend, not to mention the gorgeous costumes of those participating in the parade, added such a feeling of celebration and vibrancy to our lobby area.
We wait to have the welcome mat out again next year Jason and thank you so much to you and your friends for being with us!

Wishing you a wonderful rest of summer!

With gratitude, Karen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband, myself and my daughter and two grandsons stayed here for two nights and were generally very pleased with the hotel. We had two adjoining rooms and having a small kitchen with a refrigerator/freezer was a great convenience with two small kids. There is a small store in the lobby with basic food items which is extremely convenient. The staff here is wonderful and the complimentary breakfast was great. A few evening a week they also serve a omplimentary light dinner. The location was really convenient but be aware that it is almost $50 per day for valet parking.
There are two things that prevented me from giving a 5 star rating. The carpets in the room were filthy. Although they looked clean, the kids' socks were black after walking around the room. A good steam cleaning would help!! Also, the indoor pool was very dirty. Tons of hair all over the tiles and floor and grime on the pool tiles.Yuck! Otherwise, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LOLAM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as you explored the city. We are addressing your points with the departments concerned as your satifiscation is important to us and we are completing our refurbishment by the end of the year too.
Delighted that you took advantage of our extensive, complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and partook in the evening lite bite social, running two or three evenings a week.
Our team we delighted to read that we did indeed provide 'Service so Memorable', for you and your family and we look to welcome you back again in the not to distant future!

Wishing you safe travels and a very happy summer!

Kindest regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,659 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $156 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing