We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience on business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Service - very pleasant employees
Lobby - inviting and clean
Room - Updated and very clean room; bed was very comfortable; temp. control worked excellent; room had great kitchen area with full size fridge
Location - excellent location in downtown Toronto with restaurant and entertainment all around
Value - Exceptional - Great price for room; free internet; free breakfast
Food - ok at best; breakfast was buffet
Facilities - Gym was small but good for hotel; Pool and sauna were clean and warm

If it wasn't for the food; I would give this place 5 stars. Excellent hotel - will definitely stay again.

Overall - excellent

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - none are more updated than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Delighted to read your review of your recent stay with us and thank you for your valuable feedback! You certainly brought huge smiles to our team this morning as we constantly strive for 'Service Excellence', five stars indeed! Always interested to hear of any new items you think the brand should consider as part of the morning breakfast buffet? We have recently added more health conscious options as in gluten free items, steamed vegetables and egg whites. It is important that we provide an environment that our guest can thrive in!

Again thank you for such a positive review and safe travels.

Warn regards,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at this property for the first time last week, attending a convention at the Toronto Convention Centre on Front Street. Perfect location, just a few minute walk.

I will definately stay there again on business, and would enjoy location also if going to an event at the Rogers Centre since very close as well.

My room was spotless and in great condition (Studio with a King Bed, sitting area with a sofa bed, a nice kitchen with a large fridge and bath/toilet section seperate from vanity).

The breakfast buffet had everything that you may want.

Computers in mini business centre were practical to print your boarding pass.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andree123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your very positive review! The team were delighted that you enjoyed all the attributes of our hotel and of course the ease of access for all the attractions and restaurants. We really are at the heartbeat of the entertainment district and hope you have the opportunity to return soon!

With gratitude
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Very central location, easy to get to most places downtown, including restaurants and all the entertainment venues... Has a great little kitchen, so a great room if you're having an extended stay and/or traveling for work - so you want to self cater some of the time. Very busy hotel though, which could be annoying especially not being able to find room to have breakfast!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank ChrisL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We certainly appreciated your feedback and happy that you enjoyed your suite, whilst staying downtown Toronto. The breakfast is very popular and as an added convenience, we do provide trays so that you can also enjoy your food up in your suite, if you so desire.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not to distance future!

With gratitude,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

There's nothing terrible about this place but surely nothing great at all.

It is a quite dim and dreary on the lobby level. And the lobby is SO small for this property. While service at the Front Desk is super friendly, breakfast is a serious nightmare!! It is crammed into a corner of the lobby. There are quite a number of food options, even scrambled egg whites. But the amount of seating vs. the # of people down there was awful. There was a staff member who was directing a line like you were in a restaurant that was almost to the outside door of the lobby. It was terrible.

Rooms are ok but not great. There was a lot of dead space in the 1BR room. They told us we had a Queen bed but there is no way that was bigger than a Double. This is a weird size to have in a room that large. There was so much wasted dead space with no furniture in the room.

The gym really needs updating as well. It was an ok stay but nothing great and I definitely would try a different Marriott property like the Renaissance next time in town.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us.Your feedback is very important to us and I am really sorry that we did not meet all your expectations in some areas. Our front desk team were very thrilled to read your positive comment about there department as customer service is paramount to our success.
We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brands and the opportunity for you to explore our brand portfolio further.

Kindest regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent staff. Customer service was great. The complimentary breakfast and complimentary supper were great (considering they were complimentary). Count on $40 per day for valet parking. I gave the rooms a lower rating because we used the pull-out sofa-- the fabric of the sofa (under the mattress) was ripped from the springs and offered no support on that side of the sofa-bed. Great location and the price of the room (during March break) was unbeatable. I would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed the March Break at the hotel and all the attributes that we offer. Plus we have addressed your concern on the sofa-bed as we speak. We are continually striving for ' Service Excellence' as without you are guest we have nothing!

Here's to welcoming you and your family back in the coming months!

Thank you again and kind regards,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here on points in mid March, and aside from a dubiously flushing toilet that was immediately dealt with, I was happy with the stay. Room was clean and spacious. Only minor quibbles were that the heating was rather noisy at night and the door seemed to offer no buffer from the hallway noise. Breakfast was free and to be expected (scramble eggs, turkey sausage, cereals, toast etc).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjeanveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! It was such a delight to read your comments to our team and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Certainly our location provides ease of access to all our attractions and restaurants that downtown Toronto offers.
we hope to welcome you back soon...With gratitude, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days during the black out and also to watch a Mirvish show. We stayed in a great spacious suite stylishly that is furnished and very well maintained. Everything is in working order and completely clean and fresh. The view is fantastic from the room. The hotel is conveniently located with walking distance to all the theaters, CN Tower and the new Aquarium, along with many other sights. The staff is fantastic, making effort to accommodate us. The hotel at the time was very crowded especially during evening check in and morning breakfast times. The staff however made every effort to keep things running smoothly. We spent our happy time there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comments on your recent stay with us! It was such a delight to read your out your great review to our caring team...a smile brought to their faces was a wonderful way to start their day!

We do hope you have the opportunity to visit once again in the not to distant future.

Thank you again for your loyalty it is greatly valued!

In hospitality

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,870 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#29 of 138 in Toronto
2,640 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $154 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing