We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay at the Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown Toronto from December 8-10th. We were both very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The room also had everything you could want; a large bathroom, kitchen/living and bedroom area. The kitchen even comes equipped with a fridge and dishwasher and stove top cook area, and dishes and utensils- as well the hotel supplies some coffee, tea, sugar and popcorn. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to the entertainment area so easy access to everything - including the subway.

Overall it was a wonderful stay and we would definately return. By the way a breakfast is included with your stay each morning- not a large selection of items but what they had was tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aruba3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We are most grateful for your very positive review regarding your most recent stay with us. It is such a delight to read such a review out at our morning meeting with the team! Passion is our creed and we truly value you, the guest! Our suites certainly do meet everything a discerning traveler would require and we are happy you enjoyed our city too!

Wishing you a wonderful Festive Season!

Kind regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Going to try a different way to review since this hotel needs it. Take in mind this is the same weekend as the bills and falcons are in town.

Check In - Painless which was good, room was ready, went smooth

Valet - 40cad a day is a bit steep when down the street they offer parking for 12-15. We stood outside on arrival for about 15-20min because there seems to be only 2 men who were parking cars were on duty.

Room - We got a suite on the 15th floor, clean room, spacious, bed was comfy, overall the room was as advertised.

Extras - Breakfast was insane, dont know if it was cause of the game, but the line wrapped around to the elevator, so when you got off the elevator you almost had to wait to even get off the elevator. Then for a buffet style eggs, bacon, typical marriott bfest you had a 20-30min wait, so the lobby to even have a coffee and read the paper was impossible, i feel sorry for anyone trying to check in or check out due to the overwhelming crowd for food and having 0 room for that many people

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators, up and down up and down and talking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Josh

Thank you for your very in-depth comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel!

We are really happy you enjoyed your room and check-in experience and certainly we have readdressed with the departments concerned, regarding your extended wait. My sincere apologies for this as we really do strive for that 100% experience with a team possessing the pure Marriott passion for our guests.

Parking in most gateway cities is always a premium, however, fortunately there are a few other options close to the hotel as an alternative to the secured, hotel valet parking with full complimentary in and out privileges.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and the opportunity to say a personal hello, when next you travel from Cleveland to Toronto!

Thank you again for concise and valued feedback.

Kindest regards

Karen Hardcastle

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Best last minute decision! Stayed here the first weekend in November. Good 15 walking distance from the ACC. A block from the trolley and many entertainment venues and restaurants. Area was safe to walk alone at night. The CN tower and new Aquarium are directly behind the hotel (about 2 blocks). The area was clean and very quiet. Two quick marts are located across the street from the hotel and a pharmacy two blocks away. Quiznos was quite pricey. I enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast each morning, directly next to the fire place. It was gorgeous! I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised that the buffet breakfast was so good! The juice was 100% real and the food was very fresh! Highly recommend the red potatoes.

The room was very clean and spacious. I had a room on high floor facing the entertainment district. My room was located away from the elevators, but across the hall from the stairs. I did notice some noise during the nite from some sort of fan running in the hallway. The sink was outside of the bathroom, which was odd. TV had many channels. Room was complete with microwave, dishwasher, ice maker in fridge, dishes, glassware, stovetop for cooking. The room attendant was friendly and knowledge. Valet was very well priced at $20 for the day. The front desk clerks were all very helpful and the valet personnel were great! They were able to hail a cab quickly and loaned their umbrella when it began to rain. I would definitely return, but next time I would bring snacks for my room. The area surrounding the hotel is $$$.

*Try to avoid the international fee charges to your credit card by paying cash. The hotel only accepts cash or credit, no travelers checks.

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Single_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

It was such a pleasure to read out your delightful and informed comments regarding your stay with us, as we strive for that 100% ranking with pure Marriott Passion!

Certainly the location of the hotel is so well positioned for a guests convenience, enabling walking to most of the attractions and wonderful restaurants!

I hope you have the opportunity to visit again in the not to distant future!

Thank you again for your valuable feedback!

In appreciation,

Karen

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel came recommended by our travel agent, and we were very pleased with the place overall. Our room on the 31st floor was spacious and well-appointed, although we weren't able to sleep in at all because the curtains directed the sun into our faces as soon as it rose! That meant we were up early in time for the buffet breakfast which was included in the nightly price. The convenient location only a 15 minute walk from Yonge-Dundas Square was great; we didn't feel like we needed to get a taxi at any point during our stay and we ventured out to most of the main tourist destinations. The three laundries on various levels came in handy for long-term travellers. Reception staff were all very polite and gave us directions to the nearest TTC station when we requested them, as well as organising a car to take us to the airport on the day we left.

Room Tip: Perhaps try to get a room on the side of the hotel away from the sunrise because if you're a lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLKrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Greetings from Toronto... and thank you for your very concise and valued feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. We certainly appreciate your comments and addressed accordingly as it should be a choice to see the sunrise or not. I do hope you have another opportunity to visit Canada and that we can have the welcome mat out for you once again as you explore the number to rated city to live in, in the world!

Have a fabulous summer in New Zealand!

Kind regards,

Karen and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We usually stay at another Marriott in the downtown area but decided since we were having dinner in the entertainment district we would try this hotel. This will be where we stay from now on. The location is fantastic, close to great restaurants, theatres, Rogers Centre and the CN Tower.
From the moment we pulled up the valet service was fantastic and check in was friendly and fast. We asked for a high floor and were given a room on the 20th floor with a fantastic view of the city. The room was lovely. The kingsize studio was extremely clean and everything you could possibly need was available in the small kitchen in our room. Our floor was very quiet and we didn't hear any noise during our stay. The elevators were very fast.
We were most surprised at the breakfast that was included. My usual complaint about the "free" hotel breakfasts is the fact that there are very few healthy offerings. This hotel had your choice of scrambled eggs or scrambled egg whites, turkey bacon and multigrain bread for toast. They had a bowl of fresh fruit available along with the fruit to go of apples and bananas.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Just delighted to receive your review and your most valued feedback! Especially that you noticed our healthy offerings on the breakfast buffet as it is most important these days to be conscious of these choices. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to your new favourite hotel, when next you travel in to downtown Toronto.

Wishing you a most wonderful weekend!

Kind regards, Karen and the A Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just came back from a 4 night stay at the Residence Inn in Wellington Street, Toronto. We have been to a lot of Marriott hotels and there are some small things on this one that annoyed me. For me there are two things very important in a hotel: shower and bed. Although the bed was confortable the shower was terrible. Toronto is a cold city and as a Brazilian traveler, all I wanted was to take a hot shower after a busy day, but there were more water coming out of the sink than the shower.

Also, the drapes didn't close properly so we always had sunlight in our face in the morning.Saturday night was a very busy night and there were a lot of people making noises on the corridor late at night. I saw at least twenty teenagers checking in and they were probably having a ball, I would guess.

Valet parking at CAD 40 per day was also a rip off (CAD 45.20 with the taxes). At least reward members could have a discout or something.

In the end of the day, location was really good and we enjoyed a very good time in Toronto, but I will definately try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostBrazilians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Your salient points have been relayed to the departments concerned and to be readdressed accordingly, as we really do care, possessing true Marriott passion!

It certainly would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, if there was a reconsideration on choice and to have the pleasure of a personal welcome.

Thank you again and also for visiting Toronto, voted the 2nd best city in the world to live!

Kind regards,

Karen and the RI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Quiet with good free breakfasts and even help setting up a tray for one of my group who was under the weather. Close to major entertainment sites. Valet staff great too. Fast check in and out. Fast elevators.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby68Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

What an absolute delight it was to read out your comments and the special commendation for Andre! Thank you so much for taking the time to do a write up and I we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope too this production of 'Les Miserable', came up to your expectations as you celebrated the marvels of theatre in the city.

We look forward to your next visit with us, hopefully in the not to distant future!

Once again we appreciate your loyalty to the Residence Inn Downtown Toronto, we have a warm welcome ready for you!

With Marriott passion, Karen and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,659 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $156 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing