We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with no hassles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location within walking distance to everything we wanted to do on our long weekend. Breakfast is always busy very similar to my stays in manhattan in similar style hotel. Small but adequate lobby and elevators were fast for us On the top floor. Valet expensive (40$) but savings for breakfast offset the cost for my family of four. Stayed on Marriott points and as silver was not given any preferential treatment.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Klove007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Of 5 middle range hotels my family and I have stayed in Toronto, this is by far the best. From the door/valet attendants, to the front desk clerks, the housekeepers, and room attendants, everyone was attentive, kind, and efficient.

The location is central to Rogers Arena, Eaton Centre, China Town, and the Second City Comedy theatre.

Our bachelor suite was large, with both a well-appointed kitchen and a large bathroom (sink outside of the bathroom). The king-sized bed was comfortable and the bed linens appropriate for the summer season.

The only down side to our experience was the very uncomfortable pull-out couch. It was not suitable for one adult to sleep on.

For this visit, we stayed 5 nights. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTravelling2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Fantastic location just minutes away from many of the great sights and sounds of Toronto... including the theatre district, Blue Jays baseball, Queen Street, and the waterfront... plenty of excellent restaurants close by too.

Suites roomy and scrupulously clean with the usual kitchen apparatus found in Residence Inns. Double-sheeting on the comfy king-size bed, and lots of fresh towels.

Also, helpful staff from check-in to check-out helping to deliver a true Marriott experience. Highly recommended for those looking for convenience and value in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DecoDoppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed with three couples, including two small children for a family event (graduation) at Ryerson University. This hotel was perfect with its central downtown location (but away from the noise of sirens and traffic). The included breakfast was very well presented and amid the crowds the pleasant staff that kept on top of everything (spills, refills, table cleaning, managing the short queue to get in) made a huge difference. I have never been in a hotel where every single staff member, including the maid making up the room as we walked by in the hall, had a friendly greeting and smile. It made us all feel welcome and safe.
Rooms are nicely appointed, extremely clean, and the beds are comfy. The pull out couch was the same as most pull outs...ok for a night or two.
Even though there were many groups staying during the time we were there, we never heard any noise from the hallways or elevators - they did not scrimp on sound insulation when the hotel was built.
There are several restaurants in a 5 minute radius from pizza take-out to Indian to more upscale. Coffee shops abound, and the area feels safe to walk in and is very close to many attractions - we could see the CN tower from our room. Subway and streetcars are also close by.
We enjoyed the salt water pool (warm!!) and again found the facilities extremely clean. Thanks again to all the amazing staff who made out stay extra special. Tip: book extra early, this hotel is deservedly popular.

Room Tip: Book extra early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in town for 4 days with our 11 and 14 year old. The positive points are that the rooms are large, there is a huge kitchen and coin laundry. The breakfast was better than most for this hotel chain.

But the bathroom is small and cramped. And the pull out sofa bed was incredibly uncomfortable for two people. Sheets are thin and only one TV for a huge suite.

Also valet parking is $40...which would be OK if you did not have to wait up to 15 min for the staff to come for your car. They misplaced our car keys-- just not up to the task.

Room Tip: take the boat ride in the harbor around the islands--it was a highlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

First time at REsidences by Marriott and it won't be our last! We were more than pleased with the property. Room was excellent, clean, roomy, great kitchen, laundry across the hall, and the breakfast was excellent for an included buffet breakfast. Items changed daily for variety, and it was a popular place in morning so go early. Hotel staff were very friendly, pool and hottub are just right size for relaxing, gym available also, and business centre with free printing (not often found for free). Location is almost on doorstep of SkyDome and CBC and walkable to Harbourfront, Roundhouse, theatre district, and Financial district. Loads of great restaurants around the area, and quiet at night. Would highly recommend to anyone staying for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
2  Thank juliaandbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

At a conference, stayed at this hotel. Great location. Close to everything. Full suite hotel with everything in the suite. Family enjoyed it too. Will definitely stay here again. Could not recommend this more.

Room Tip: The higher the floor location the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Ausman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#7 of 136 in Toronto
2,194 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,968 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#28 of 136 in Toronto
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $161 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing