We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Won't Be The Same Without You!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It Won't Be The Same Without You!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since it first opened 5 or 6 years ago. Besides being a great location the staff always made you feel welcome. In fact it was like my home away from home. The GM and her senior staff always made me feel special and that they valued my business. Recently there have been significant changes in the Management of the hotel and at least 3 of the senior management team are gone. I'm sure the remaining staff will do their best but with the heart of the hotel gone it won't be the same experience and I'm afraid for me that this means after all this time there I will be taking my business elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank unclespike18116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    553
    120
    32
    30
See reviews for
592
391
92
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at this recently built hotel about 5 times now. The best thing is the location which is just round the corner from the Blue Jays stadium and the underground shopping paths.
It is also very close to the West End where there are plays, films and restaurants.

The rooms are very comfortable, extremely well decorated with kitchen facilities. They are, however, a little bit quirky. For some reason the washbasin and mirror are located outside of the bathroom and by the side of the bed. The bathroom could easily have accommodated it in there because there is a load of spare space by the toilet. We were on the 20th floor and were grateful that there are sufficient lifts to take you to/from your room.

A free breakfast is on the ground floor to the left of the reception desk. It can get very busy in there and hectic so be warned. There is a good supply of cooked and cold, buffet food. The people on attendance are sometimes overly zealous, whipping plates and cups from you the moment they are empty.

Check in and check out is very efficient and there are always porters around to help you with your luggage.

Room Tip: You should be ok whichever room you select. It is one of the quitter streets in Toronto so noise won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 days while visiting Canada. The Hotel rooms are all suites so plenty of room to relax. Each suite area has a kitchen (with hobs, dishwasher, fridge/freezer with own ice making machine and all your pots, pans, plates etc), dining table, extremely comfy bed and reclining seat/chaise longue. Our room was number 411 which had a view of the CN Tower, which was a bonus. The location is great, based in the Entertainment District so near to loads of restaurants, bars and shops. Also close to the CN Tower and Waterfront which is a great place to eat/drink. Overall, would rate 5*'s and certainly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

You can't ask for a better location for a 4star hotel than the heart of the city. Getting there was tricky with all the new condo construction, but was manageable. Given the amount of construction the noise was very minimal during the day, non-sexistant during the weekend.You are a 5 minute walk to the CN Tower and Rogers Centre (Skydome). The arts and Theatre's abound here and there is an abundance of live music in the bars and cafe's. You are also 5 minutes from Chinatown, St.Lawrence Market, and The Hockey Hall of Fame. Quick access to the QEW highway gets you to Niagara Falls in about 1 1/2 hrs.
The rooms come with kitchenette, but you will be delighted with your room. Spacious, well done and VERY comfortable King/ Queen beds. The staff is very pleasant and beyond helpful and the breakfast is well supplied and buffet style. Lots of food for all, including children.
Highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a weekend stay in Toronto. We stayed 3 nights and will be calling this hotel HOME on our next Toronto getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauldeCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband had booked the Residence Inn to celebrate a special anniversary, but told me to go ahead and book a nicer hotel. I looked at Trump, Drake, Ritz Carlton, Intercontinental, etc. but decided to keep the Residence inn reservation.

The hotel is in the Entertainment district-so there are many restaurants in the area.
Check in: friendly, quick.
The room: we had a corner studio. Nicely furnished, large, comfy beds. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom is a bit small.
Manager's reception: The first night we stayed, there was a reception in the evening. Gyro meat, french fries, cans of soda.
Breakfast: The breakfast was better than expected. They had scrambled eggs (soft, not dried out), bacon, potatoes and peppers. The hotel was booked and the breakfast room was packed, but staff helped guide people to available seats.

This hotel is clearly well-managed. The staff were helpful, but not obsequious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syracusenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Toronto for our first anniversary. It took me forever to find a hotel that would satisfy us- clean, room on a high floor with a city view, decent price, downtown location. After 4 days of reading the reviews I decided to call the Residence Inn.

Staff: RENEE from the front desk was absolutely fantastic and super friendly on the phone, assured that she will do everything she can to get us a room for such a special occasion (the hotel was almost booked out). She also answered all my questions regarding the hotel services, CN Tower features etc. So we could NOT wait to get there.

Room: When we arrived we met with RENEE and she had everything prepared for our check-in. We got a room 1910, a studio suite with an AMAZING VIEW of the city! It was mesmerizing! The suite was EXTREMELY clean, fully equipped: kitchen, fridge, dish washer, mugs, utensils, kitchen towels, dish soap, frying pans, pots etc- WOW! The bathroom was gorgeous and very modern! Our suite also had modern art decor, a huge king-size bed, TV with 70 channels etc.

Location: The hotel is conveniently located a block or 2 away from the CN Tower and the entertainment district. We loved it!

Services: The complimentary breakfast was great, the swimming pool is awesome, the water was warm! We spent 2 hours in it! The staff was bringing fresh towels every hour! We also checked out the gym- the equipment is great and not too crowded! Right next to the pool and gym they have a business station with 2 computers and a printer!

Bed: Our bed smelled really good and was soo comfy- we had the best sleep ever, so did NOT want to get up! Plus the view was soooo charming! Right from the bed!

Price: The price for our room was very good, including the fact that it's a downtown hotel with all conveniences, beautiful suites (with kitchens) and complimentary breakfast!

Overall: WE ARE VERY PLEASED! Thanks to RENEE (front desk), housekeeping, staff and cooks for making our anniversary so special! Will definitely recommend the hotel to everybody!

IMPORTANT: Call the front desk before booking online and discuss your stay, they will provide you ALL information you need! Toll-free (from the US as well): 1-800-960-6752. Photos are coming up soon!

Room Tip: IMPORTANT: Call the front desk before booking online and discuss your stay, they will provide you AL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firefoxusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisporte, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is in prime location to everything. Very friendly staff incredible service. Very clean, the rooms were quite large and had great little kitchenette area. The complimentary buffet breakfast was superb. Food was delicious and fresh. Great way to start the day! Would highly recommend this location to anyone. When I visit Toronto again will definitely stay at the Residence Inn Toronto downtown!!! Wouldn't think of going anywhere else!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite large. We had a king size bed, the livingroom area had a couch large enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowwhite249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
715 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Property: Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing