We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected..wonderful desk personnel and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Ranked #87 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you want a location that is central to both public transport, easy local walking and some sightseeing locales in hand with wonderful onsite personnel that offer a personal and professional touch, this is your reasonable, safe, and clean place to stay. Rooms do not have a private bath but facilities were just down the hall and always clean. Bed linens and towel provided were just right. Temperature controlled rooms and able to open a window for a bit of fresh air as well. When my umbrella broke the front desk offered me a loaner which was badly needed during the rainy days during my stay. There are also laundry facilities on site that run $1 for washer and $1 for the dryer. Very handy considering my first day attire was drenched due to the downpour. Also felt great to have all clean clothes before moving along on my journey. An added plus was being able to sit in on an upstairs alumni gathering that offered live latin music for a few hours. How's that for in-house entertainment! Hotels are always a great choice but can be lonely if you're traveling alone as I was. Here I felt part of a larger group and had answers for all of my questions that were not tourist oriented but for the everyday resident of Toronto. Everyone was absolutely terrific, fun, and smiling!!

Room Tip: I was situated in Wilson Hall with a window facing Willcocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMGalNewDiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

To save money, because we were staying in town for six nights, we stayed here but regretted it. As previous posters have mentioned, the front desk staff seem poorly trained, and they are more used to big school groups than individual guests.
An unfriendly young man who was working the overnight shift told me he couldnt tell me if there was any possibility of moving to a different room to a quiter section of the hall and that I would have to ask in the office the next day. The front desk person doesn't know how full the residence is?

On the plus side, the room was air conditioned, which is necessary in Toronto in summer, and the curtains at least had linings to block out light in the morning.
Our biggest complaint was the noise from what seemed to be the undergrad students who are residents there in wetmore hall, where we stayed..
They showed no consideration for other guests, walking through the halls and yelling at each other from one end of the hall to another, well past midnight, and slamming room doors and hallway entrance doors. There is a kitchen common area where they gathered each night watching TV that blared away.
Security is good, with locks on the main building entrance, the entrance to each floor and you can;t use the elevator unless you have a room key.
Be warned that you could end up with a large group of high-school students staying on your floor as well, since it's a popular accommodation for student groups. The communal bathroom can also be a very long trek down the hall from where your room is.
Location is good and fairly central, in a leafy and green area of the campus. Building is ugly late 1960s architecture with lots of concrete, like a disguised parking garage.
If you have a car, note that there is no overnight parking on Willcocks street in front of the residence. I parked on Spadina just below Willcocks, where you can park overnight but the meter starts charging at 8 a.m. So you have to get up and move your car or put money in the meter. A better bet would be to find a city-run parking lot and just leave your car there if you don't need to drive anywhere while in town.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Steve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here in the 1st week of June for 7 days. I would stay here again, cheap and a great location.

- Staff were friendly (even when I arrived at 3am due to my delayed flight).
- 20-25 mins walk to Yonge Street and Eaton Shopping Centre
- 5 mins walk to BIXI bicycle stand
- 8-10 mins walk to Spadina station
- 5-10 mins to grocery stores on Spadina Avenue
- Safe area to walk around even during the night
- Shared washrooms were fairly clean, though the male washrooms were on the other side (perhaps ask to stay in a room which is closer to the male washroom)
- Room was fairly clean
- Free wired internet (if you do not have Anti-virus software and the latest Windows updates on your computer, make sure you update it before you get here, otherwise you not be able to access the Internet without updating over the University's network)
- The noise from some rooms (students I guess) was sometimes loud beyond the "Quiet" time of 8PM but not loud enough to cause me much bother (i.e. no loud music, partying, etc)

If you are looking for a cheap and great location compared to staying in a hostel or paying crazy hotel prices Downtown, stay here

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Pros – Location, cheap vs. alternatives, fairly comfy bed, good location

Cons – Toilets can be 3 blocks away – not ideal for the middle of the night, Noisy as School Trips use accommodation so our room was surrounded by school kids, Room dark and dingy, didn’t feel the cleanest, staff on reception a bit useless when couldn't find our booking so had to be sorted out by booking office but no one communicated this to us so we were stood around for half an hour not sure what was going on - not ideal after a long flight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Don't expect anything more than a place to sleep at night. This is a very basic 'hotel'. It's located very conveniently downtown Toronto, within walking distance of many attractions.
The rooms are very basic, you get a mattress, a small desk, and a shared public bathroom/showers. The price is cheap, we were 2 people, stayed for 1 night, for 58$.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The place was reasonably clean, but it is in a 1960s or 70s concrete building so it is not beautiful. This wouldn't matter because it is cheap and well-placed for downtown Toronto.

This hall is set up for school groups and sports teams - not for visitors from the general public. The worst thing was the attitude of the staff, who are apparently only geared to deal with students. The girl on reception was very friendly but had little clue how to deal with most of my questions - I concluded that she was not trained. Her supervisor treated me like a badly behaved first-year student. The information on line says, for example, 'A pillow is provided' - what it does not say is that if you need another pillow, you can't have one. The worst thing was not that there are no pillows but that the supervisor spoke contemptuously to me as if I should have read the instructions and it was my own fault that I didn't bring one.

The kitchen had nothing except work surfaces, settees, a cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer. I.e. no pans, crockery, cutlery, kettle or utensils. I was given a paper cup so I could heat water in the microwave. This kitchen might work if you were Canadian and coming by car so you could bring all you needed. For an Englishwoman coming on the train, it was of almost no use at all.

I have stayed in many university halls of residence before and this was definitely one of the worst organised. For example, in my last couple of days a party of young teenage boys arrived and were staying all around me. My bathroom was moved by the simple expedient of putting a notice on the door. Sharing a floor with a group of boys was not my idea of fun.

There is a good and cheap laundry room. The bathrooms were cleaned fairly regularly. The place is cheap. Those are the only good points.

I would advise anyone not to go there. It should not be being advertised to the general public.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Toronto is an expensive city for accomodation, and this university residence is a total bargain. Of course, you'll get a basic comfort, with shared bathrooms, but the room is really OK. On the other hand, you will benefit from the common area equipments, which include a shared fridge, microwave oven, etc. What's more, the location is top-notch, right smack in the city centre. Oh, and: there's Wifi! :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjorie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chestnut Residence & Conference Centre
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#104 of 136 in Toronto
26 reviews
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#111 of 136 in Toronto
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 136 in Toronto
297 reviews
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#101 of 136 in Toronto
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence

Address: 40 Willcocks St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $33 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Of Toronto - New College Residences Hotel Toronto
New College Residence Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing