We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baldwin Village Inn
Ranked #17 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“never disappointing”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have stayed in this lovely b&b many times (business, family, couple) and I have never been disappointed. The owner Roger is super-friendly and somehow manages to attract interesting guests from all over the world. Anyone who has had at least one breakfast in this b&b also knows that this is the house of the best cheese omelette in town :)
Plus, the location is very nice, Baldwin street is the coziest street where you can stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cosenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
21
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Was very happy staying in this inn as the hosts (roger, tess, pia) were very welcoming and friendly. The inn feels like a "home" away from home. Even though it's shared bathrooms, but they are all very well kept, clean and tidy. The rooms are also very clean and neat. Very comfy bed. No too stiffy, victorian kinda of decor. Their Simple lines, well-lit atmosphere makes a stay super cozy. They also served very nice omelette for breakfast. :) (roger's specialty). Highly recommended. Location so good as many restaurants on the same street, makes it very convenient. Very close to museums, chinatown, university of toronto. There is also a laundrette on the same street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank cruisebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Rojer is the warmest host!! Very kind, very welcoming, gave us maps, explained exactly where we should go. The house is warm, clean, there were many people from all around the world, some of them came for the second and third time. Breakfast was excellent!!!! Your style of omlette, many kinds of cheese, serials, breads, coffee, juice, just excellent!!!! There are two showers and two bathrooms which are always clean and available, there is a free Internet, the bed was very Cody and clean with white sheets, the house is warm and hospitality is just wonderful!!! And we have been there only for two nights!!! Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shmulik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We spent three nights here and were welcomed by our hosts Tess and Roger. Our room was upstairs and the only negative aspect was that we shared the bathroom with two other couples however there were other facilities downstairs. In the morning we had a substantial breakfast. Nearby in Baldwin village were a variety of eating places and a laundromat.
On University Avenue was a convenient subway and nearby were other forms of transport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank UniquePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here for two nights while having a getaway from kids and one of us was attending a meeting. Tess and Roger and their daughter were very welcoming and attentive and genuinely interested in our travels and our needs.
The room was quiet despite being at the front of the building, The bed was comfortable. There was no wardrobe, but a chest of drawers -fine for a two night stay. No TV in room -but one in a small sitting area. The bathroom was close (down the hall), but very small and being shared by three or four rooms/guests -mostly not a problem, but may not suit everyone. Breakfast was fabulous and eggs cooked to order were great. Location is good -close to Queen St West and very close to AGO.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Australians_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Toronto was the 4th stop (of 5) on a road trip through Eastern Canada. We stayed at all B&B's and I can certainly say this was the best! Roger and Tess are so welcoming and really made us feel at home. They are down to earth and wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were great. It was very go your own pace. There was a spread of bagels/toasts, fruit, cheese and spreads. Eggs were then cooked to order.

Our room was one of the small rooms, but for the price and location it was a great value. It was extremely neat and clean. As was the entire house. There are three bathrooms that are shared among all the rooms (I believe 6 rooms). It was never a problem since it is really only about 2 rooms to a bathroom.

The location is close to so many attractions. Walkable to almost everything. There are also streetcar and subway stops very nearby. Plenty of great options for restraurants so close by.

I'd highly recommend a stay here, and if I ever go back to Toronto I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

What a wonderful stay I had at Baldwin Inn. I stayed there with my friend and we felt right at home. The room was clean and comfortable, with a view of the quaint patio out back. Roger and Tess were great hosts, the best hosts I've had at any B&B. The breakfast was great, there is a variety of things to choose from, including bagels, cheese, fresh fruit and eggs. There are shared washrooms, but this was not an issue during my stay. The washrooms were kept tidy and also had shampoo, conditioner, and body wash.

The location of the B&B is another great asset to the inn, the location is central to many great attractions, including the CN Tower, museums, shopping, and restaurants.

If I am visiting Toronto again, I will certainly return here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,639 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 136 in Toronto
6,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldwin Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin Village Inn

Property: Baldwin Village Inn
Address: 9 Baldwin St, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated business, offering quality accommodations in the vibrant neighborhoods of downtown Toronto for over 25 years. With a variety of housing types, our location and clean and comfortable rooms can provide you with the right lodging for your stay. Our properties give guests the convenience of a city with the feel of a cozy home. The demand for affordable accommodations has led us to continue to expand our operations with a new 4th location opening up starting May 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baldwin Village Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing