We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carol D "Just like coming home"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 117 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Carol D "Just like coming home"”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

June 12, 2014 My second visit from Edmonton, the first was in December 2012 in the basement suite which was very nice. On this recent visit my sister joined me from California and we stayed in the Oak Suite non-catered suite across the street.The accommodations were great, nice ensuite kitchen, and bedroom, which I let my sister use. I used the pull out couch which was prepared for me by Ziggy and Margo. All that is needed is a small step stool for the shower which has quite a large step to enter/exit. The house is a short walk to the subway which we used a lot. Although we mostly ate in and with family, we found a nice pub down the street called 'Mugshots' which has a great pulled pork sandwich and sweet potato fries. We also found a very nice breakfast place with mostly homemade food choices. I will most certainly stay again on my next trip. Thank you Margo and Ziggy for another great and safe place to stay. :o)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you Carol and it was a pleasure to meet your sister. We are so glad you had a good time and thanks for recommendation for the local eatery. Till next time-have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    64
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
116
241
77
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently stayed in the High Park suites which is the non-catered house across the street from the bed and breakfast house. The house has a lovely front garden and large porch with comfy chairs. The Maple room was a good sized room with a comfortable queen sized bed and well appointed, modern bathroom. The in-room fridge was a nice touch and a lockable door led to a small kitchen, well supplied with basic cookware and utensils, that was shared with the next room. Everything was bright and cheery and clearly well cared for. Margo and Ziggy were friendly, caring and helpful. This is a safe area of beautiful homes, very convenient to the subway and a short ride to downtown, and easy walking distance to several areas of interesting small shops and restaurants (the Junction, Bloor West, and Roncesvalles), and it is a reasonable walk to the lakeshore. Whenever we visit Toronto, we now know where we will stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you Gabriella for staying with us and for a wonderful review. We try our best to have our properties in the top condition and maximum comfort for your guests. Have a great summer and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We returned to By the Park for our annual visit from the west coast to visit our children and our new grandson. Once again Margo and Ziggy did not disappoint. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed hanging out in High Park Village and went for some early morning runs in the Park. This B&B is in the perfect location with the subway steps away and access to some wonderful restaurants (we recommend Good Forks at Bloor Street West and Jane Street for breakfast if you decide not to eat one of Margo and Ziggy's gourmet breakfasts) If you're into pubs there are several good ones within walking distance. We tried Mugshots this year (just around the corner near Bloor Street West and Parkside Drive) and the beer selection and food were exceptional. We'll been back again soon guys.....thank you again for a lovely experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much. We are always looking forward to your annual Toronto visit. And thank you for the invitation- one of this days we will break free and go west. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Sumptuous in every respect except the price--which was reasonable. Excellent location near High Park. Easy access to the university and downtown. The room was elegantly appointed, the hosts congenial, and the breakfasts hardy and delicious. Puppies and kitty added their own brand of conviviality. Surprisingly quiet given the fact of its location near main thoroughfares. Garden is gorgeous. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The second floor room overlooking the garden was spacious with king size bed. Shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you Dianne. Now that you discovered our home, we hope to see you again. All the best this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Toronto - visiting a daughter. We stayed for a week in the Magnolia suite at High Park Suites. Given the length of our stay we qualified for a generous 20% discount on the rate (pre-tax).
Indian Grove is a residential street, close to Toronto's largest park. This gave a sense of space, quite a different feel from the high rise buildings of downtown. Keele subway station (Bloor - Danforth line) is a couple of minutes walk away - therefore easy to connect with the city's public transport system.
Our room was clean and comfortable - the bed was huge! If we had any criticism we found the bed on the high side. There was a good sizes walk-in wardrobe and chest of drawers for our clothes. TV in the room and free wi-fi was available.
The Magnolia Suite shares a well appointed kitchenette with the Maple - although we never met our 'neighbour'.
We rented a car for part of our stay - off road parking was available at the rear of the building.
Although we only had limited contact with Margo and Ziggy, both were welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Would we stay here again? Most definitely
Would we recommend By the Park as a place to stay? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony-deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Glad you enjoy your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again. It was a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights by the end of May 2014 in this sweet and quiet place : owners are great (they've traveled a lot and they're willing to share their experience, they offer great service and make a delightful breakfast - best strawberry pancakes ever !), bedroom at the first floor was cool (and we slept very well) and the hot tub in the bathroom was very welcome after a long day of walking in Toronto. Besides, the B&B is ideally located : restaurants all around, High park 2 minutes away, 505 street car to Toronto center about 10 minutes away. Don't hesitate...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medemeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much. Hope rest of your Canadian vacations was great as well. Now that we know where your little island is, we are hoping to visit it one day. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I have being staying at Margo and Ziggy's By the Park B&B a couple of times a year for several years now. All I can say is it is consistently a great place to stay. It's by the subway line, super clean and M&Z are very friendly. And it's affordable. It really is a gem. Thanks again - we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_Based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you. We love our returning guests. Have a great summer - till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
664 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Etobicoke
Old Mill Toronto
Old Mill Toronto
#16 of 137 in Toronto
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. Toronto Roncesvalles Suites - long term (29+ days) self catering suites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing