We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$384
$255
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Omni King Edward Hotel(Toronto)
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Delta Hotels Toronto(Toronto)
$303
$260
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
$103
Trip.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
$198
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$242
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
486
64
1
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
64
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian groveb bself cateringshared kitchenkeele subway stationwonderful hostsloft suitethe garden view roomlovely homedaisy roomroncesvalles avenuehouse is beautifulhome away from homepublic transitensuite bathroomshort walkquiet street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 555 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

There was no pomp and circumstance from the hosts when we arrived at By the Park, but it turns out they spend more energy tending to the needs of the guests than gratuitous, showy welcoming parties.

Clean premises despite animals of feline and canine breed, who live in the house. Quiet pets too that never ascended beyond the main level common areas--you would've never known they were there unless you sought them out. (You should.)

The breakfast was well done with good variety. Daily fresh fruit cups were accompanied by off-the-griddle blueberry cottage cheese pancakes, various omelets and sugar dusted French toast.

Aside from being good in the kitchen, the hosts were also very worldly and great for conversation --- about Toronto, its attractions and beyond.

By the Park is immediately near High Park just outside downtown Toronto with foot access to the urban bustle-bound city streets for all sightseeing. Easy on/off from the highway and not too far from the scenic Lake Ontario waterfront as well, if you're down for a run or walk along the waves.

Note: be prepared to leave your shoes at the door...and likely your car keys too, as the hosts may need to do some vehicle juggling in the slim driveway for guest parking.

Room Tip: The Garden View room is very spacious and full of light, with two walls of windows. This came with access to a huge, decadent private bathroom with glassdoor shower and pseudo-jacuzzi tub that's better (and cleaner) than a jacuzzi. The loft room, from what we saw (courtesy of some very friendly guests) was also incredible, if you seek a more secluded stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the basement apartment on roncesvalles. The suite was great. The location was wonderful. I got from the apartment to york side mall in 26 minutes. That is very fast! The big selling point is the neighborhood. It is a beautiful neighborhood.

Ziggy was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northtwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Mom and I very much enjoyed our stay here in these lovely surroundings. Very close to Mom's old neighbourhood which we'd come to visit. There were places nearby for me to wander around (High Park etc) while Mom stayed at the B&B enjoying a nap or relaxing in the garden. Wonderful breakfasts, generous servings sizes, lots of variety. I am not vegetarian, and didn't realize that this was a Vegetarian B&B until reading their tourist guide entry later; was told they also cater to vegans upon request, good to know if I ever bring my daughter. I appreciated the guest "coffee room" on same floor as our room: I get up much earlier than Mom so was able to slip out of our room, make some coffee, have a snack I'd stored earlier in the little fridge, read the paper etc until it was breakfast time. My one negative comment: my Mom is wary about her balance and slipping and was nervous about the tiled bathroom floor. She would have liked a non-skid shower mat and wished that there had been some grab-bars both inside and outside the shower. She did not use the deep tub for fear that she would have difficulty getting in and out. Also we were given a peak into the top floor suite: Mom noticed the bathroom area was "open-concept" and felt that this would not appeal to anyone who was modest about their privacy.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank NorthIsleHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I returned this wonderful B & B in June to visit with our new grandson. Margo and Ziggy our hosts made our stay a most pleasurable one. Our room was cozy and comfortable and the shared kitchen had everything we needed. The premises are spotless and the updates very tasteful. Talking of tasteful, the apricot and cottage cheese crepes we were served for breakfast on our last day were phenomenal. This property is perfectly located near the Keele Street subway station and close to Beautiful High Park and the colourful Bloor West Village with several good restaurants and pubs. We are already making plans to go back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Simply amazing.
Recently went there with my wife for our honeymoon.
We didn't want a huge hotel with tons of foot traffic noise and a crowd to battle for continental breakfast.
Ziggy and Margo have the welcoming atmosphere and amazing accommodations down to a time-tested science.

Each morning we were welcomed by Ziggy, Margo, amazing breakfast, and quiet big band music.

If you want an experience to remember, a 3-minute walk from the nearest metro station (keele), intimate breakfast, amazing people, this is the only place for you in Toronto.

Room Tip: It's nice to have your own private bathroom instead of a shared bathroom in the victorian building. It's worth it so you don't need to have a shared bath.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews