We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very kind owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, very kind owners”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This review is so long overdue! We stayed here last summer - one night actually in the b&b in the super huge and luxurious Loft Suite (Wow!!) and then a full week in one of their apartments in the Roncesvalles neighborhood.

**Location: both the b&b and the apartment are in fantastic locations. Roncesvalles is such a fun area - great restaurants, close to the park, just fabulous. It is also extremely convenient to public transit - particularly the apartment which has a trolley stop almost right in front of it. We spent a week exploring Toronto and I never found an area I liked better. If I ever return to Toronto I will absolutely stay in this area again and again.

**Customer Service: Margo and Ziggy are a super serene and kind couple. We had a major flight snafu and (oddly) had to fly in a night earlier than expected (long story!) and they totally accommodated us by letting us stay in the Loft Suite while the apartment was being prepared for our expected arrival. We arrived pretty late at night, but they still welcomed us kindly. I can't tell you the relief it was to arrive there after a long and very stressful day of travel. Once we finally checked into the apartment we didn't see them much (which is to be expected of a vacation rental), but they were always super responsive when we had any questions.

**Rooms/Facilities: The b&b is truly stunning, but as we spent most of our time at the apartment I'll focus on that. The rooms were all very nicely updated and appointed (the bathroom in particular was done very well!) Both bedrooms had window a/c units which were sorely needed as the temps were brutally hot during our visit. My daughter slept in the front room which faces the street. I'm not sure if street noise is a problem up there since she sleeps like the dead no matter what, but it is something to consider for light sleepers. My only minor complaint is that the layout was a bit awkward with the kitchen being downstairs and there being no living room for us all to hang out together in the evenings. But we made do and it was just fine. I like that there was a full size fridge in the kitchen as you don't often find that in big city vacation rentals. It would have been great to have a washer/dryer, but there are Laundromats nearby.

**The bottom line: If you're looking for a comfortable apartment in a fabulous neighborhood with access to all that Toronto has to offer look no further!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laustic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    63
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
115
230
76
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just what we wanted for 5 days in Toronto - the B & B is a fairly short drive from the airport, close to the Expressway for travelling to Niagara, and only a few minutes walk to Keele subway for easy access to the city sights. Also in in great little neighbourhood for a beer and bite to eat in the evening. But I saved the best bit until last. The B & B is just lovely - beautifully decorated and maintained and the hosts (Margo and Ziggy) couldn't have been more delightful and helpful.

Room Tip: The garden view room is large and bright and has a lovely outlook over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

i love coming back to by the park. it is consistent, well-managed and easy...never any issues or problems. the room decor is topnotch. the rooms are enjoyable and comfortable. upgrade to flat screen tv is appreciated. quiet guests and friendly hosts. it is a so much better than a hotel in toronto. it is like coming back to your own home each night. great location and easy parking on site. i have stayed at both locations and both offer large rooms and comfy beds.

Room Tip: depends if you want to enjoy the delicious breakfast in the main house or cater yourself in the self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very convenient to be on not only the Bloor subway, but also a short walk to three street car lines (King, Dundas and College) and street cars are a much better way to visit Toronto if you have time. It's also nice to be next to High Park. On Sunday, we walked through the High Park Zoo and caught the Queen street car. By The Park is also near many nice places to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very friendly service and a very clean room. The location near High Park is great, and it's close to all amenities of Bloor West village.
Only negative was that the rooms/building were pretty cold and the thermostat was locked. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice now. It is a truly lovely place in a neighbourhood that shows you Toronto at its best. The proprietors, Margo and Ziggy, are friendly, helpful and make a delicious and healthful breakfast.

Room Tip: The room with its own bathroom was well appointed. But the shared bathroom is uniquely beautiful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretaMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A B&B should have friendly hosts, be spotless, in a good location, serve scrumptious breakfasts, be in a dwelling that has character and on-site parking, and have a great bed. For all of these categories my wife and I would say that "By The Park" will easily meet your expectations. Our hosts made us feel at home as soon as we came through the front door. The place was immaculate throughout. The breakfasts we shared with the other guests were gourmet. The house that was lovingly restored is cozy and wonderful (and when the garden is in bloom must be absolutely stunning) and the bed was wonderful. The location is one short block from the Bloor subway line. If you like the B&B experience you won't find a better one in Toronto!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
624 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#4 of 136 in Toronto
609 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Etobicoke
Old Mill Toronto
Old Mill Toronto
#15 of 136 in Toronto
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing