We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude service and attitude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reservoir Lounge

Reservoir Lounge
Ranked #6 of 266 Nightlife in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This perennial favorite is a modern-day speakeasy. The cramped space -- it seats only 100 -- is below street level, yet feels intimate rather than claustrophobic. Live jazz, whether Dixieland, New Orleans, or swing, belts out 6 nights a week. The epicenter for the swing dance craze in Toronto, this is still the place to watch glam hepcats groove.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very rude service and attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We went to Reservoir Lounge for the first time yesterday, wanting to try somewhere new for jazz. When we arrived, the guy at the door said that we could sit anywhere that didn't have a reserved sign.
We found two stools along a ledge with a good view of the band. A few minutes later a waitress came and said we would have to move since the seats were being given to someone else. We asked where we could sit and she pointed to a table in the corner with no view of the band. We weren't very happy with this and said that the doorman said we could sit anywhere without a reserved sign.
We waited for here to come back and let us know when the other people were ready to move, and then the guy at the door came and said that his manager wanted us to leave the restaurant. We were shocked. Clearly a huge miscommunication and very poor customer service. We should have left right then, but decided to stay for the rest of the set since the band was good and we didn't want to let rude management ruing the evening for us.
The customers were mostly 30-50 year old guys in suits who were there to get plastered after a day at the office- you know, the ones who go crazy when a band plays Hot, Hot, Hot.
Don't think we'll be going back there. There are lots of better places in Toronto without all that attitude and rudeness. Too bad, because the band was good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LInda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    6
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
644 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Great music if you like jazz/swing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

A few girlfriends and I went here on Saturday. Arriving early (9:00) all the tables were filled with later diners, so we went across the street for a drink before coming back at 10:00. It was now packed and the band was playing. It is a $10 cover and don't expect to get a table. This place is tight, which adds to the ambiance. The crowd definitely skews older - like 40s, so it was great as I felt like a spring chicken. The dance floor is tiny but you can get right up to the band. The music was lively and very good - though I don't really care for jazz, I appreciated the talent! Drinks are not astronomical - I paid $7 for my cider and wine started around $10 a glass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
253 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Feast for the ears, if not the stomach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We reserved in advance on a Saturday night and had a table right in front of the stage. I was put off initially by having to pay a cover when (four of us) were ordering dinner and drinks, but the jazz band was so good that I also bought the singer a beer after the first set. We also liked the look and feel of the lounge.
Our server was attentive and pleasant; no issues regarding service for us. The food was a disappointment: sub par pub food. Drinks were pricey, but that was expected. And a woman sitting at the table beside us was like a wind-up toy; she just kept yapping and yapping loudly and did not shut up for even a second while the band was playing (her ignorance, of course, is not the fault of the lounge, but her parents: shame on them).
Go for the music and ambiance, but eat first.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Weston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great little live music venue for the over 35 crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

. Great little lounge on basement level. The night I was there had a great soul nite band called dee dee martini. Great singer, lots of fun, good crowd from age 35 to 50's
You can get up to dance, fun night out. Best to call and reserve a table .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude servers in basement hovel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Occasionally we try this lounge with the hopes that perhaps it's improved but we are constantly disappointed and won't go back again. The staff is incredibly rude and seem unhappy with their jobs. Music is always great but there are many better venues in the city. Not worth the effort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DowntownAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reservoir Lounge also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Reservoir Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing