We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Princess of Wales Theatre
Ranked #26 of 515 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Princess of Wales Theatre is a 2000-seat playhouse built by the father and son producing team of David and Ed Mirvish, just a block away from their historic Royal Alexandra Theatre. The Princess of Wales is the first privately owned and financed theatre built in Canada since 1907 - and the first anywhere in North America in over 30 years. Construction began on August 6, 1991, and the building opened to the public with the musical Miss Saigon on May 26, 1993.The theatre was built with maximum flexibility in mind. Its stage is one of the widest and deepest in North America - large enough to accommodate the most spectacular theatrical productions - and its technical facilities are state-of-the-art.
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This theatre is gorgeous, and there is seriously not a bad seat in the house. We sat in the dress circle (first balcony) and it was amazing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BBB0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    262
    47
    27
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This was a humungous great open theatre with phenomenal performance of Le Miserable that I was always interested in and very cool with food bars behind and the whole 9 yards, I highly recommend if you enjoy theatres!

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE TO UNWIND”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My company purchased tickets for the employees to visit the Princess of Wales Theater, to see the Sound Of Music being performed. The entrance was not swept at the time, so it looked dirty and uninviting. On entering, I was quite impressed with the decor and the very professional look. The quality of music was absolutely perfect and it stayed with me for a long time. The wash room lineups can be extremely long. Prepare for a very long wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful night out”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful theater.
Comfortable chairs.
Great sound.
Friendly staff.
Reasonable price for snacks and drinks.
Wonderful pre-order option for intermission.
Parking very convenient.
Location excellent.


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Theater.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We caught a performance of The Lion King and had a wonderful time at this theater. The seats were a little uncomfortable, but it wasn't too bad. The theater was clean and had the most beautiful mural on the ceiling. I enjoyed it and will be back the next time we're in town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princess of Wales Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Princess of Wales Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing