We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great theatre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princess of Wales Theatre

Princess of Wales Theatre
Ranked #44 of 500 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Princess of Wales Theatre is a 2000-seat playhouse built by the father and son producing team of David and Ed Mirvish, just a block away from their historic Royal Alexandra Theatre. The Princess of Wales is the first privately owned and financed theatre built in Canada since 1907 - and the first anywhere in North America in over 30 years. Construction began on August 6, 1991, and the building opened to the public with the musical Miss Saigon on May 26, 1993.The theatre was built with maximum flexibility in mind. Its stage is one of the widest and deepest in North America - large enough to accommodate the most spectacular theatrical productions - and its technical facilities are state-of-the-art.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Saw many different performances here. Nice theatre, but it all depends on the show. The staff is very courteous and helpful, but the snacks are a little over priced. But what can you do?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    232
    44
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Les Miserables was fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great show and our first visit to this theatre. We had orchestra seating and the seats were excellent. Bought some memorabilia and took lots of pictures outside the venue.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMBourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Proverbial Good Time that was Had by All !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We took in the extended Toronto production of Les Miserables and got to enjoy the rich surroundings of the Princess of Wales Theatre.
A nice clean washroom, with a very funky public sink in the Ladies Room (it's like a long rainshower).
Seats are comfy and they serve ice cream bars (in the theatre) at intermission. The smell of popcorn, when we first walked in had me temporarily confused that we had walked into a movie theatre!
It truly was a wonderful experience and we so enjoy going to the theatre at the Princess of Wales.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ottawhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Les Miserables”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Though I love live theatre, I kind of thought this show was a bit overrated. Apparently it's better on a bigger stage, but to be honest I still enjoyed the experience and finally saying I saw this show.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Les Miz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We came here to see the performance of Les Miz and we thoroughly enjoyed the show. Beautiful theatre and we will come back for other shows in the future

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ice11567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princess of Wales Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Princess of Wales Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing