We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Les misérables”

Princess of Wales Theatre
Ranked #30 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Princess of Wales Theatre is a 2000-seat playhouse built by the father and son producing team of David and Ed Mirvish, just a block away from their historic Royal Alexandra Theatre. The Princess of Wales is the first privately owned and financed theatre built in Canada since 1907 - and the first anywhere in North America in over 30 years. Construction began on August 6, 1991, and the building opened to the public with the musical Miss Saigon on May 26, 1993.The theatre was built with maximum flexibility in mind. Its stage is one of the widest and deepest in North America - large enough to accommodate the most spectacular theatrical productions - and its technical facilities are state-of-the-art.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Les misérables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent theatre. Beautiful, but needs more bathroom space for men and women. Have seen several shows here. Will certainly come back, when in town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    244
    45
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still a great theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Saw Les Mis on the weekend here the theatre is well located near great eaterys and lots of good parking either on the street or underground so access to the theatre is easy .
The theatre is modern ,well maintained with good size lobby area so easy to take a break between acts.
Overall one of the better venues in Toronto

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Les Miserables - Melissa O'Neil”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have seen Les Mis many times 20 years ago in Toronto then from London, England to Sydney Australia, so we were looking forward to seeing it in the Princess of Wales. Theatre was hot and the show was good. Especially Melissa O'Neil as Eponine. The ensembles power when singing as a large group was moving. The set was well done, I enjoyed the appearance of moving through the sewer system. This is easy theatre to get to and from (King St street-car infront and University subway nearby), as well as "green-P" parking and underground lots nearby..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Les Mis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

It is a lovely theater. There isn't a bad seat. We were lucky to sit in row GG. I hope to return before it is torn down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PCbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Les Miserables Toronto sound far too loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Saw Les Miserables in Toronto last night. The settings were fabulous BUT the sound was unbearably LOUD. I had to stuff tissue in my ears to act as ear plugs as I thought my ear drums would burst. Think that the mics need to be set lower as even the orchestra was too loud. Other theater goers were putting their hands over their ears also. Really needs to be looked into.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princess of Wales Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Princess of Wales Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing