We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mysteriously Yours...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mysteriously Yours Dinner Theatre

Mysteriously Yours Dinner Theatre
Ranked #21 of 87 Concerts & Shows in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and join the fun! Enjoy a fabulous three course dinner followed by a hilarious interactive whodunit?! The intrigue begins when you meet some colourful characters. The plot thickens when somebody you've just met... dies! A detective leads the investigation. The suspects are spread throughout the room, sitting right at the tables with you. So, you get to participate and see if you can solve... Whodunit?! Friday & Saturday evenings. Select Wednesday meatiness at the Old Mill Inn. Also available for private, customized events at our Theatre or at a location of your choice.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mysteriously Yours...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Its an awesome experience to take part in this show. Its very different and very good too. I went there for my birthday and I had the best b'day ever. Simply loved it. Everyone should try!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Madddy_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    5
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dinner and a Whodunit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Mysteriously Yours dinner Theatre, located at 2006 Yonge Street in Toronto is a delightful way to spend an evening enjoying the company of friends and interactive theatre. The theatre has been presenting a variety of mysteries for twenty-five years and it is up to the detectives and the audience to find the culprit. Those that can accurately identify the murderer,and it is not easy,will receive a prize.

The evening starts with a three course meal consisting of soup or salad, an entree of chicken, fish, beef or vegetable and dessert. Wine and cocktails are available as well as soft drinks and tea or coffee. As you enjoy your meal,the actors begin to arrive and circulate among the diners. They talk to everyone and at the beginning,the banter is lighthearted. Then the plot thickens and someone dies.

As the action begins,the suspects are now seated at tables with the patrons throughout the room. The detectives question both diners and actors to determine if anyone has seen anything suspicious. It is all great fun and really quite difficult to discover whodunit.

The mystery that we saw was entitled "Apprentice to Murder", but the presentations change regularly. There is always lots of intrigue, comendy and audience participation. The theatre open s at 6:30 and continues until 10:30 p.m. Performances are Friday and Saturday evenings and some Wednesday matinees. It was fun and the food was pretty good.

For further information call: 416-486-7469 or toll free 1-800-not dead. Their website is MysteriouslyYours.com.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmyncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was my second visit to mysteriously yours and I'm already planning my third!

Food was very good, excellent even. Delicious salads, superbly tender beef, and scrumptious desserts.

The show itself was a riot! The actors are spectacular, particularly at improv.

The first time I went was for their Apprentice show, which had me sore from laughing do hard. The actor who played Regis Philbin came to our table, and did his little speech and I said "so how's Kathie Lee?" He grabs his head, shakes it and says "don't get me started on Kathie Lee! He proceeds to improv a good five minute, hilarious tirade about Kathie Lee. It was great!

This time around we went to see the Sherlock Holmes show. I found the Apprentice show better, but that's not to say I didn't immensely enjoy this one as well. The same actor from before was now playing Dr Watson, and when he came to the table I said, "you know in a hundred years, you're gonna be a great Regis Philbin" I thought it might catch him off guard but he rolled with it "why thank you sir! I like you I'm going to use you first!"

Throughout the show, the actors will have certain people stand up and read out a line, or just be the object of a joke. You don't have to of course. If you're very shy, you need not worry, because most parts have you simply stand up while they make up some story about you. It's all in good fun, and even the super shy girl in the group wished that they had picked her out.

I recommend mysteriously Yours whole heartedly. Some of the best entertainment in town to be sure!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mycroft009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where I am
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“I'm not the next Sherlock Holmes...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Note: This dinner theatre is not wheelchair accessible.

Alcoholic beverages ranged from $7-12. Everyone enjoyed the food but the appetizers in particular.

Definitely let them know in advance if you are celebrating a special occasion. With one exception, the cast were great. It's not an easy thing to be able to improvise, especially when you are portraying a character that is similar to a real celebrity. I didn't manage to identify the correct killer, but some of the people at my table did. It seemed so obvious after they explained all the clues. :) Don't forget to participate; the appropriate oohing and ahhing (along with lauging out loud) just adds to the fun. Much like a pantomine if you've been to one.

This was my second visit to Mysteriously Yours and I would definitely go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank neferTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amusingly Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great value way of dining out and having fun at the same time. The theatre is roomy, occupying the basement of two or three stores directly on a bustling part of Yonge Street and seats 100+. Doors open around 6:30 for dinner and the actors appear for the mystery play at about 8:00. You don't have to have dinner and can buy tickets just for the show, but I would recommend buying the package and getting there around 6:45 to 7:00.

The food is not bad; a choice of soup or salad (the salad was fine) and then salmon, beef ribs or a chicken pasta. Consensus at our table was that the beef is the best which was served with mashed potato and wilted spinach. Dessert was cheesecake or mousse. Drinks are a little pricey by local bar standards but cheaper tha night clubs. House wine is $40 a litre carafe and martinis $9-$12.

Tables are six to eight, so if you are a couple you will likely be sharing. This adds to the fun (discussing clues to the murderer etc), but don't expect an intimate evening for two! You may well have a cast member at your table.

The plot is not complicated and the characters are fun parodies on famous names. You may not feel it was the best night out you ever had, but you would have to be a miserable specimen not to have a few laughs and to come away feeling it was a fun night out for the money. Go enjoy!

Helpful?
3 Thank English-Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mysteriously Yours Dinner Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Mysteriously Yours Dinner Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing